18. January - 25. February 2012

State Design Prize 2011

Exhibition

After their exhibition in Vienna, Austria’s best design projects can be seen in the designforum Steiermark in Kunsthaus Graz. These projects are from the three categories of “Product design – consumer goods”, “Product design – capital goods” and “Spatial design”. 7 projects were nominated from the 176 submissions, from which 3 winning projects were chosen. The criteria used in judging the projects focused on their social relevance. Styrian projects were among those to be given awards: Lukan Jungmann received recognition for “schwimmende Sauna Ile“ and the apartment unit “Hypercube” by Matthias Gumhalter and Christian Reschreiter also received an award, as did the therapy device, “Das Pablo System” from tyromotion.  The special “DesignConcepts” prize, which represents the “impulse” funding program of the Austria Wirtschaftsservice, was also awarded for the first time. The State Design Prize catalogue shows all products and projects awarded prizes.

06. March - 29. April 2012

Hilgarth Design

Exhibition

The work of the industrial and product designer Kurt Hilgarth spans the gap between design and the ever-increasing demands placed on the functionality of leisure and sportswear. This exhibition presents a cross-section of his products, mainly used in the context of sport and leisure: ski boots, touring shoes, snowboard boots and inline skates. The exhibition focuses both on the products created by this internationally successful designer and on the design process itself. The design of highly functional products such as ski boots and inline skates requires a sophisticated approach, which embodies the process-orientated character of design. Rather than simply producing finished products, design requires continuous change that allows for things to develop and evolve. The design of shoes for leisure and sport is a particularly good example of this. In 2012, a total of 77,741 people visit the exhibition in the designforum.

13. March 2012

City of Design: 365 Days

Creative Industries Styria present the Graz City Guide in commemoration of the first anniversary of Graz being designated a UNESCO City of Design. Within this city guide, 18 well known personalities from the creative scene reveal their tips for 185 different shops, pubs and other hotspots in the capital of Styria. The Graz City Guide ensures that these businesses will also be discovered, at the same time revealing the diversity of the local creative economy. The mayor of Graz, Siegfried Nagl, is also able to make use of this opportunity to communicate news about the positive developments within the creative scene in Graz, for example the 18% increase in the registration of trade licenses in the areas of advertisement, graphics and design in comparison to that of 2010. Between 2009 and 2010, there has also been a 9% increase in income from municipal tax collected from the pool of CIS registered companies. The 270 reports in the national and international media cement the city’s reputation as a design hotspot, with one of the reports naming Graz as one of the top 5 design cities in Europe.

27. March 2012

A gift from Graz, City of Design

Call for Ideas

A shoulder bag with solar panels – the SunnyBAG – is the new gift to be presented to international visitors of the City of Graz, UNESCO City of Design, at official occasions. Among the 27 submissions in response to the call for designs organised by the Creative Industries Styria on behalf of “Haus Graz”, the sunnyBAG was the one which stood out. “Haus Graz” consists of the City of Graz and its subsidiary companies and second tier subsidiaries, for example Holding Graz, Messe Graz, Graz Tourism, the City Museum and the Children’s Museum. Production was undertaken in cooperation with Romy Schneiderin, HEIDENPASS or pro mente, among others.

27. April - 27. May 2012

The network society, Creative Industries Styria, organises around 60 events in the fields of design, communication and creativity within the framework of the Design Month Graz 2012. The number of visitors to the events total 57,000. Taking place for the fourth time, the Design Month offers a packed program with an international focus and high quality standards. Buenos Aires, also a UNESCO City of Design, was represented at the Design Month and was an active participant in various different aspects of the Design Month. Work by Argentinian fashion designers is exhibited at the design festival assembly. Another topic at the Design Month Graz is the way in which the city at Rio da la Plata will react to being given the UNESCO award and how this will be integrated into the development of the city.

10. May - 17. June 2012

Design Prize Switzerland

Exhibition

As part of Switzerland’s guest appearance at Designmonat Graz 2012 (“Grüezi Graz”), the “Design Prize Switzerland” exhibition presents projects that have been nominated for and awarded the design prize. The exhibition shows that Swiss design, as always, embodies both innovation and precision, while at the same time including fresh ideas and being driven by new challenges. There are a total of seven projects, ranging thematically from social design to material innovation, which illustrate our neighbour’s approach to design. In addition, Marcus Pericin and Florian Bachmann from the Colour Light Centre of the Zurich University of Arts have, in cooperation with Kunsthaus Graz, developed work for the facade of the Kunsthaus, titled “Lichtkörper”. The Design Prize Switzerland was initiated by the Design Center in Langenthal in 1991 and took place for the eleventh time in 2011. The aim of the award is to grant recognition to Swiss design and bring it into the international arena. The Design Prize Switzerland both observes and influences the market, awards recognition to outstanding achievement and takes up the role of uncompromisingly encouraging courageous ideas, which pave the way to the design of the future.

29. June - 02. September 2012
Exhibition

The “Industrial Design Show 2012” exhibition shows the approaches behind the designs in the form of sketches, models and animations from the fields of product and transportation design. The designs have been developed in cooperation with AUDI, B/S/H Bosch, Siemens household goods, DLOUHY and WACKER NEUSON.
At the opening weekend, visitors have the opportunity to see “Concept one”, an electric super sports car with over 1000 HP, produced by the Croatian company, Rimac as well as “Panther I” and “Fennech”, the two electric vehicles designed by Team Eco-Racing Austria (Tera) from Graz University of Technology. The students and graduates will also be present over these few days. The internationally renowned institute of design education presents its annual degree show in the designforum Steiermark for the second time this year, attracting over 14,000 visitors.

10. September - 28. October 2012

"Good design,
we pay good price"

Exhibition

Design is a complex visual language, where emotion and passion play a pivotal role. These emotions are particularly evident in the innovative yacht designs created by motion code: blue, a design studio in Graz, which frequently causes a sensation within the international yacht and design scene. Objects and examples from the field of product design are, however, also exhibited. The motion code: blue design studio was founded in 2009 by Christopher Gloning and Christian Gumpold. Both designers had previously completed degrees in industrial design at the University of Applied Sciences in Graz. The studio sees itself as working in the grey zone between design and technology, and is not only active in the field of yacht design but in that of product design, transportation design and architecture. The exhibition shows both completed and on-going projects in different stages of the design process and offers a fascinating insight into the world of yachts measuring between 15 and 60 meters in length.

12. September - 15. September 2012

Network journey
to Helsinki

The Creative Industries Styria’s network journey, organised in cooperation with the City of Graz and the Austrian Foreign Ministry, has Helsinki as its destination. This decision was not without reason: the capital city of Finland is the 2012 World Design Capital. Helsinki is a modern European city with history and traditions stretching back more than 450 years that form a natural symbiosis with contemporary designs and trends. With around 600,000 inhabitants, Helsinki is the largest city in Finland. At the time of the trip, both “Everyday Discoveries – International Design House Exhibition” and the “Helsinki Design Week” take place, making the city into an international focal point for contemporary design.

27. September - 09. October 2012

"designZone" at
Graz Autumn Trade Fair

With more than 90,000 visitors, Graz Autumn Trade Fair is the biggest consumer fair in the south of Austria. Since successful reorientation in 2011, it presents new focal topics, showcasing high-quality design in keeping with Graz as a City of Design. In cooperation with Creative Industries Styria, in the long term Graz Autumn Trade Fair aims to create a setting which will get a wide audience enthusiastic about design. The main theme of the 2011 Graz Autumn Trade Fair was “Styrian fashion design”, with the additional theme of product design in 2012 – an impressive exhibition which appeals to visitors and designer alike.

01. November 2011 - 26. December 2012

design8en 2012

Sales show

design8en – the perfect combination of design and Christmas – presents a potpourri of extraordinary gift ideas. The refreshing presentation of objects and small series produced by regional labels is a source of enthusiasm every year. To add to the choice of products available to the audience, designers from all over Austria have been invited to submit their products. The sales show presents the works of some twenty labels, giving visitors the opportunity to choose from a host of creative and extraordinary gift ideas for Christmas. design8en 2012 is an initiative of the designfora of Styria and Vorarlberg – in cooperation with Museum Shop Management and Livid Departmentstore Dornbirn.

31. December 2012

Jakomini pilot project ends

With its theme of “Ready-Steady-Go”, the Jakomini district pilot project kicked off with the distinctive “red running-track” in September 2010. Over the next few years – appropriately enough for a running-track – the project picked up speed, with the varied mix of design firms, fashion shops, architectural offices or advertising agencies, and traditional workshops adding momentum to the district. Up to forty new companies have set up business in the Jakomini district. Altogether, the district numbers 93 companies along the running-track, with a total of around 140 jobs. Twenty-eight of these companies are in the creative sector, 59% of the companies in the Jakomini district are one-person firms. The great creative potential and the resulting enhancement of the Jakomini district have resulted in lasting stimulation. With the impetus from the pilot project, the city has proved that it is possible to generate that added value in the district which stimulates dynamic development and results in a win-win-win situation for all those involved: old-established firms as well as new creative set-ups – tenants along with owners and investors.

Top

18. Januar - 25. Februar 2012

Staatspreis Design 2011

Ausstellung

Die besten Designprojekte Österreichs in den drei Kategorien „Produktdesign – Konsumgüter“, „Produktdesign – Investitionsgüter“ und „Räumliche Gestaltung“ sind nach Wien auch im designforum Steiermark im Kunsthaus Graz zu sehen. Aus 176 Einreichungen werden 7 Projekte nominiert, 3 Siegerprojekte werden gekürt. Für die Beurteilung steht das Kriterium der gesellschaftlichen Relevanz im Vordergrund. Unter den Ausgezeichneten sind auch steirische Projekte: Lukas Jungmann erhielt für seine „schwimmende Sauna Ile“ einen Anerkennungspreis, Auszeichnungen erhielten die mobile Apartmenteinheit „HyperCubus“ von Matthias Gumhalter und Christian Reschreiter sowie das Therapiegerät „Das Pablo System“ von tyromotion. Zum ersten Mal wird auch der Sonderpreis „DesignConcepts“ des Förderprogramms impulse der Austria Wirtschaftsservice verliehen. Darüber hinaus werden in einem Katalog der Staatspreis und alle ausgezeichneten Produkte und Projekte vorgestellt.

06. März - 29. April 2012

Hilgarth Design

Ausstellung

Der Industrial- und Produktdesigner Kurt Hilgarth bewegt sich im Spannungsfeld aus gestalterischer Arbeit und den ständig steigenden Ansprüchen an die Funktionalität von Freizeit- und Sportbekleidung. Die Ausstellung zeigt einen Querschnitt durch seine Produkte, die hauptsächlich in den Bereichen Freizeit und Sport Verwendung finden: Skischuhe, Tourenschuhe, Snowboardschuhe und Inlineskates. Neben Produkten des international erfolgreichen Gestalters steht auch der prozessuale Aspekt von Design im Fokus der Ausstellung. Die Gestaltung von hochfunktionalen Produkten wie Skischuhen und Inlineskates verlangt einen sehr differenzierten Zugang zu Design, der sich stark am prozessualen Charakter von Design orientiert. Gestaltung ist kein punktueller Vorgang, der fertige Produkte hervorbringt, es ist vielmehr ein ständiger Veränderungsprozess, aus dem sich Dinge entwickeln und verändern. Am Beispiel von Schuhen für Sport und Freizeit lässt sich das besonders gut nachvollziehen. Insgesamt 77.741 Menschen besuchen im Jahr 2012 die Ausstellungen im designforum.

13. März 2012

365 Tage City of Design

Anlässlich des einjährigen Jubiläums von Graz als UNESCO City of Design präsentiert die Creative Industries Styria den City Guide Graz. In diesem Stadtführer verraten 18 Persönlichkeiten aus der Kreativszene ihre Tipps für 185 verschiedene Geschäfte, Lokale und Hotspots in der steirischen Landeshauptstadt. Der City Guide Graz sorgt dafür, dass diese Unternehmen auch gefunden werden, und stellt gleichzeitig eine bunte Vertreterschaft der heimischen Kreativwirtschaft vor. Darüber hinaus kann der Grazer Bürgermeister Siegfried Nagl positive Nachrichten aus der Grazer Kreativszene vermelden, unter anderem eine 18%ige Steigerung Gewerbeanmeldungen im Bereich Werbung, Grafik und Design im Vergleich zu 2010 sowie eine 9%ige Steigerung der Kommunalsteuereinnahmen aus den im Pool der CIS registrierten Unternehmen von 2009 auf 2010. 270 Berichte in nationalen und internationalen Medien festigen das Bild der Stadt als Design-Hotspot, einer davon nennt Graz als eine der 5 Top-Designstädte Europas.

27. März 2012

Ein Gastgeschenk aus Graz, City of Design

Call for Ideas

Eine Umhängetasche mit Solarpaneelen – ein SunnyBAG – ist das neue Gastgeschenk der UNESCO City of Design Graz, das zu offiziellen Anlässen an internationale Gäste der Stadt Graz übergeben wird. SunnyBAG hat sich im Rahmen eines Calls unter 27 Einreichungen durchgesetzt, den die Creative Industries Styria für das „Haus Graz“ durchführte. Das „Haus Graz“ besteht aus der Stadt Graz und ihren Tochter- und Enkelunternehmen (z. B. Holding Graz, Messe Graz, Graz Tourismus, Stadtmuseum, Kindermuseum, etc.). Bei der Produktion kooperiert man beispielsweise mit Romy Schneiderin, HEIDENSPASS oder pro mente.

27. April - 27. Mai 2012

Rund 60 Events aus den Bereichen Design, Kommunikation und Kreativität bündelt die Netzwerkgesellschaft Creative Industries Styria im Rahmen des Designmonat Graz 2012. Insgesamt 57.000 Besucher/innen werden gezählt. Die vierte Auflage des Designmonats bietet ein dichtes Programm mit internationaler Ausrichtung und hohem Qualitätsanspruch. So ist etwa Buenos Aires, wie Graz eine UNESCO City of Design, im Designmonat vertreten und nimmt in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen aktiv am Designmonat teil. Arbeiten argentinischer Modedesignerinnen und -designer werden im Rahmen des Designfestivals assembly gezeigt. Und wie die Stadt am Rio de la Plata mit der 2005 verliehenen UNESCO-Auszeichnung umgeht und diese in die Stadtentwicklung integriert, ist ebenfalls Thema im Designmonat Graz.

10. Mai - 17. Juni 2012

Design Preis Schweiz

Ausstellung

Im Rahmen des Gastauftritts der Schweiz beim Designmonat Graz 2012 („Grüezi Graz“), zeigt die Ausstellung „Design Preis Schweiz 2011“ nominierte und prämierte Projekte im designforum Steiermark. Dabei wird klar, dass Schweizer Design nach wie vor für Innovation und Präzision steht, jedoch gepaart mit frischen Ideen und getrieben von neuen Herausforderungen. Insgesamt sind es sieben Projekte, die beispielhaft für die Zugänge des Nachbarn sind und von Social Design bis zu Werkstoffinnovationen reichen. Zusätzlich haben Marcus Pericin und Florian Bachmann vom Farb-Licht-Zentrum der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste in Kooperation mit dem Kunsthaus Graz unter dem Titel „Lichtkörper“ eine Arbeit für die Fassade des Kunsthauses entwickelt. Der Design Preis Schweiz wurde 1991 vom Design Center Langenthal initiiert und 2011 zum elften Mal ausgeschrieben. Dabei soll Design aus der Schweiz ausgezeichnet und international präsentiert werden. Der Design Preis Schweiz beobachtet und prägt den Markt, zeichnet herausragende Leistungen aus und versteht sich als kompromisslose Aufmunterung zu mutigen Ideen, die der Zukunft des Designs den Weg ebnen.

29. Juni - 02. September 2012
Ausstellung

Die Leistungsschau „Industrial Design Show 2012“ zeigt Design-Impulse in Form von Skizzen, Modellen und Animationen aus den Bereichen Produkt und Transport. Entstanden sind die Design-Studien in Kooperation mit AUDI, B/S/H Bosch und Siemens Hausgeräte, DLOUHY und WACKER NEUSON.
Am Eröffnungswochenende können Besucher den über 1.000 PS starken Elektro-Supersportwagen „Concept One“ vom kroatischen Hersteller Rimac und die beiden Elektrofahrzeuge „Panther I“ und „Fennek“ vom Team Eco-Racing Austria (Tera) der Technischen Universität Graz begutachten. An diesen Tagen sind auch die Studierenden und Absolvent/innen anwesend. Die international renommierte Designausbildungsstätte präsentiert ihre jährliche Degree Show 2012 bereits zum zweiten Mal im designforum Steiermark und konnte damit über 14.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher anlocken.

10. September - 28. Oktober 2012

"Good design,
we pay good price"

Ausstellung

Design ist eine sehr komplexe visuelle Sprache, in der Emotion und Leidenschaft eine herausragende Rolle spielen. In der Arbeit des Grazer Designstudios motion code: blue werden diese Elemente vor allem in ihren innovativen Yachtdesigns sichtbar und spürbar, mit denen das Studio in der internationalen Yacht- und Designszene immer wieder für Furore sorgt. In der Ausstellung zu sehen sind aber auch Objekte und Fallbeispiele aus dem Gebiet Produktdesign. Das Designstudio motion code: blue wurde 2009 von Christopher Gloning und Christian Gumpold gegründet. Beide haben zuvor den Studiengang Industrial Design an der Grazer FH Joanneum absolviert. Das Studio versteht sich als Schnittstelle zwischen Gestaltung und Technik und ist neben dem Yachtdesign auch in den Bereichen Produktdesign, Transportation Design und Architektur tätig. Die Ausstellung zeigt abgeschlossene sowie laufende Projekte in verschiedenen Stadien des Designs und bietet einen interessanten Einblick in die Welt der Yachten zwischen 15 und 60 Metern Länge.

12. September - 15. September 2012

Netzwerkreise
nach Helsinki

Die Netzwerkreise der Creative Industries Styria, die 2012 in Kooperation mit der Stadt Graz und der Außenwirtschaft Austria organisiert wird, führt nach Helsinki. Nicht ohne Grund: Denn die finnische Hauptstadt ist im Jahr 2012 World Design Capital. Helsinki ist eine moderne europäische Stadt mit mehr als 450 Jahren Geschichte und Traditionen, die eine natürliche Symbiose mit zeitgenössischem Design und Trends eingehen. Mit rund 600.000 Einwohnern ist Helsinki die größte Stadt Finnlands. Im Zeitraum der Reise findet auch die „Everyday Discoveries – International Design House Exhibition“ und die „Helsinki Design Week“ statt, was die Stadt zu einem internationalen Brennpunkt für zeitgenössisches Design macht.

27. September - 09. Oktober 2012

"designZone" auf der
Grazer Herbstmesse

Die Grazer Herbstmesse ist mit mehr als 90.000 Besuchern die größte Publikumsmesse im Süden Österreichs. Seit ihrer erfolgreichen Neuausrichtung im Jahr 2011 präsentiert sie neue Schwerpunkte und setzt ganz im Sinne der City of Design Graz auf qualitätsvolles Design. In Kooperation mit der Creative Industries Styria möchte die Grazer Messe langfristig den Rahmen schaffen, ein breites Publikum für Design zu begeistern. Der Schwerpunkt der Grazer Herbstmesse 2011 lautet „Steirisches Modedesign“ und wird 2012 um das Thema Produktdesign erweitert – als beeindruckende Leistungsschau, die Besucher/innen sowie Designer/innen gleichermaßen begeistert.

01. November 2011 - 26. Dezember 2012

design8en 2012

Verkaufsausstellung

design8en – die perfekte Kombination von Design und Weihnachten – zeigt ein Potpourri von außergewöhnlichen Ideen zum Kaufen und Verschenken. Die Objekte und Kleinserien von regionalen Labels sorgen mit ihrem erfrischenden Auftritt jedes Jahr für Begeisterung. Um die Auswahl der Produkte für das Publikum zu erweitern, wurden Designerinnen und Designer österreichweit eingeladen, ihre Produkte einzureichen. Die Verkaufsausstellung zeigt die Arbeiten von rund 20 Labels und bietet Besuchern die Gelegenheit, zu Weihnachten aus einer Vielfalt an kreativen und außergewöhnlichen Geschenkideen auszuwählen. design8en 2012 ist eine Initiative der designforen Steiermark und Vorarlberg – in Kooperation mit dem Museum Shop Management und dem Livid Departmentstore Dornbirn.

31. Dezember 2012

Pilotprojekt Jakomini endet

Unter dem Motto „Ready-Steady-Go“ wurde im September 2010 der Startschuss für das Pilotprojekt Jakominiviertel mit der markanten roten Laufbahn gegeben. In den folgenden Jahren hat sich – passend zu einer Laufbahn – das Tempo der Aktivitäten erhöht, durch den bunten Mix aus Designbüros, Fashion-Shops, Büros für Architektur oder Werbeagenturen sowie alteingesessenen Handwerksbetrieben kam weitere Bewegung ins Viertel. Bis zu 40 neue Unternehmen haben sich im Jakominiviertel angesiedelt. Insgesamt zählt das Viertel 93 Unternehmen an der Laufbahn, mit insgesamt rund 140 Arbeitsplätzen. 28 der Unternehmen sind aus der Kreativbranche, 59% der Unternehmen aus dem Jakominiviertel sind Einpersonenbetriebe. Das hohe kreative Potenzial und die daraus resultierende Attraktivierung des Jakominiviertels führten zu einer nachhaltigen Belebung. Mit dem Impuls des Pilotprojektes hat die Stadt bewiesen, dass es möglich ist, jenen Mehrwert im Viertel zu generieren, der eine dynamische Entwicklung stimuliert und zu einer Win-win-win- Situation für alle Beteiligten führt: Alteingesessene Gewerbebetriebe ebenso wie neu angesiedelte Kreative – Mieter und Vermieter ebenso wie Investoren.

Top