14. March 2011

Graz is made a
UNESCO City of Design

Even before being designated a UNESCO City of Design, Graz had positioned itself as a modern city of culture with high standards of living. The city has promoted numerous cultural activities and institutions and was designated European Capital of Culture in 2003. Applying to join the Creative Cities Network was therefore the next logical step towards the goal of developing the city’s reputation as one of the creative centres of Europe and raising the international profile of the town and region. The subsequent campaign, “Being a City of Design means…” communicates the complex aspects of design in a clear and easy to understand manner, explaining, informing and inspiring. What sets it apart from more classical campaigns is the active involvement of actors within the field who are asked to consider what the idea of design means to them and how this relates to Graz.

09. March - 01. May 2011

Every Body is a Universe

Exhibition

For the White Elephant design duo from Graz – Tobias Kestel and Florian Puschmann – raw materials are more than simply raw materials. They feel a sense of responsibility towards the essence of the material and are continuously searching for its hidden qualities. This requires extensive research into the properties, form and function of the material that they are working with as well as into the limitations of the material in terms of performance and to what extent and in what way it can be worked with. This exhibition presents various objects of study as well as furniture, lights and technical products and also includes the experimental projects undertaken over the last few years. The exhibition includes not only the objects themselves but also the design process and the thought processes behind the development. The result of this is a diverse journey of discovery through the history of the objects. A total of 11,900 people visited the exhibition.

20. March 2011

Design from GRA-Z

Furnishing the city

In her project “Design from GRA-Z”, Johanna places communication design at centre stage. The furniture itself reduces communication down to the simplest form of letters. Their huge size allows them to be used as places to sit or lie down on as well as a means of transporting information. It is exactly this aspect which makes the project so versatile. The choice of a particular letter can connect the seating to its environment, an aspect that can be enhanced by printing additional information onto the letters.

 

The first project that began the process of furnishing the city was that of “Getier” by Thomas Perz and Petrus Gartler. Installed in September 2010, this project conceptualized benches not simply as foreign objects but as a part of the surroundings. They make connections with flora and fauna, in both their form and function. What resulted was a collection of benches with a mechanism in the legs that allows for movement and a chain securing the seating to the floor. They are, however, mobile and can be repositioned as far as the length of the chain allows.

06. May - 05. June 2011

Between 6th May and 5th June, design takes centre stage in the city. The 51 events taking place during Designmonat Graz in the UNESCO City of Design can boast a total of 58,000 visitors. 2011 is another year with a full program of events, which was organised by the Creative Industries Styria in cooperation with various design initiatives and institutions as well as companies from the creative industries. This enables Designmonat Graz to represent a colourful kaleidoscope of creative achievements, making the development of Styrian creative industries visible for all to see. The month begins with an opening day organised in cooperation with the University of Applied Sciences, which includes a party in the old “Taggerwerk” factory. This is followed by an intense four weeks packed with highlights which include the fashion and design festival assembly, the Barcamp unconference, focussing on four different topics, and a design thinking, focussing on the topic of “The river Mur as living space”.

07. May 2011

The reopening
of the fashionLAB

Initiated by Creative Industries Styria in 2010, the fashionLAB is a network in the form of a shop that positions itself right at the centre of the local and Styrian fashion scene. The 300 square meters of what used to be a supermarket contain avant-garde fashion: rare and consciously ephemeral but also affordable. Over the course of the redesign process, the fashionLAB in Graz has also developed a series of events that give designers the opportunity to show their engagement with topics outside of the word of fashion. Current topics will be presented on a regular basis, providing the opportunity to make fascinating connections between these topics and the fashion world.

11. May - 30. June 2011

James Dyson –
The Storm against the Quiet

Exhibition

With the exhibition “James Dyson – The Storm against the Quiet”, the designforum Steiermark takes a look behind the scenes of an innovative technology company. Rather than making use of the classic form of product presentation, the exhibition re-enacts the journey from the presentation of the problem at hand to the first sketches to the development of vacuum cleaners, hand dryers and fans that can be mass-produced. The British designer and entrepreneur James Dyson, born in 1947, founded his technology business, Dyson Ltd., in 1993. Today, the technology company exports to 50 different countries and employs around 2500 staff. Dyson revolutionised vacuum cleaner technology, which had remained almost entirely unchanged since 1901, by developing a product which requires no bags and has no loss of suction. Dyson has recently also set new standards for hand dryers and fans. Dyson has almost 1300 patents and patent registrations for the company’s more than 300 different inventions and therefore has the second highest number of registered patents in Great Britain after Rolls Royce.

13. May 2011

CODE Graz

poster competition

A poster competition is taking place in 8 Cities of Design. Graphic designers, illustrators and photographers who live or work in one of the Cities of Design are able to participate. In total, 49 local and international designers have submitted their creative ideas based on Graz as a City of Design. A maximum of 10 of the best submissions from each city will be collected together in an exhibition. Five submissions representing Graz will be shown at the exhibitions in Buenos Aires and Montréal. The posters should focus on the concept of the “genetic code” of the city and reveal what makes Berlin, Buenos Aires and the other Cities of Design unique. The draft that succeeded in winning over the jury in Graz was that designed by the graphic designer Paul Scherübl.

01. July - 04. September 2011

Industrial Design Show 2011

Exhibition

Students in the Industrial Design bachelor and master degree programs at the University of Applied Sciences provide an insight into their current projects and thesis work at the 2011 Industrial Design Show. The decision was taken to not just present the work at the University of Applied Sciences but also in the designforum Steiermark in Kunsthaus Graz, in order to make the work available to the wider public. The exhibition shows approaches to the areas of product and transportation design in the form of sketches, models and animations. The topics range from aesthetically ambitious “Speedforms”, to original packaging for olive oil, to a luxury airship designed for two people. The topic of the project, “Individual Urban Mobility”, was provided by Magna Steyr in Graz. For the first time, the annual Industrial Design degree show was organised in cooperation with the designforum Steiermark in Kunsthaus. Around 13,000 visitors saw the exhibition.

12. September - 30. October 2011

In Touch with
the Product Line

Exhibition

The exhibition in designforum Steiermark reveals the diverse nature of Edelweiss Industrial Design’s portfolio. Outdoor-seating, consumer goods such as a digital avalanche detector and shavers as well as a Bösendorfer grand piano, medical technology, tools and a surreal lip vibrator for orchestral musicians are among the products presented. The focus not only lies on the products themselves but also on the individual stages of their development, from the intensive research and problem analysis, to the first sketches, to the production of products suitable for series manufacturing. The philosophy behind Edelweiss Industrial Design is as incisive as it is sustainable: “We do not need any new products and, if we do, then better ones.” Since founding Edelweiss Industrial Design in 2005, Roman Wratschko, Philipp Haselwander and Georg Wanker have worked closely with the industry as external advisors. They believe that it is possible for good design to be a part of everyone’s life.

04. November 2011 - 08. January 2012

design8en 2011

sales exhibition

design8en exhibits selected objects, presents and small series at the Christmas sales exhibition at designforum Steiermark in Kunsthaus Graz. Designers from all over Austria were invited to submit their work in order to extend the selection of products available to the public. The over 13,000 visitors saw work from around 20 different labels and had the opportunity to choose from a variety of creative and unusual Christmas present ideas. design8en was initiated by designforum Steiermark and Vorarlberg and is organised in cooperation with the museum shop management and the Livid department store in Dornbirn.

11. November 2011

City of Design T-Shirt-Contest

Call for Ideas

The t-shirt contest looks for motifs that communicate the topic “Graz – UNESCO City of Design”, to be printed onto 100% organic cotton t-shirts. The designs are judged by the quality of the design, the suitability for screen-printing as well as the suitability of the design for all sizes and both sexes. The t-shirts will be produced for both men and women in the sizes XS – XL. First place was given to Boris Clenet from France with the subject “Uhrturm”, second place was given to Julian Castro, a Mexican living in Graz, with “Lederhosen” and third place was given to the Austrian creative duo “Paul Alltag” (Christian Alltag and Paul Scherübel) with their subject “Friendly Alien”.  Chosen from the 45 international submissions, the competition winner, Boris Clenet from France, will be presented on the 9th of February.

01. December 2011

HERZlich

Opening of the Jugend am Werk flagship store

The new Jugend am Werk shop is taking shape on the shop floor of what was previously the Herzl candle shop. The name – HERZlich – does not just allude to the name of the previous business but also stands for the vision pursued by Jugend am Werk; that it is possible for everyone to participate in the same employment market and gain a sense of self-esteem. This shop allows Jugend am Werk to sell more of the products made at their production schools. Furthermore, almost all of the furnishings in the shop were produced in their schools and workshops. The shop also provides information about the workshops and helps to increase the confidence of the young people looking for employment who are working there.

Top

14. März 2011

Graz ist
UNESCO City of Design

Graz hat sich bereits im Vorfeld seiner Ernennung als UNESCO City of Design als moderne Kulturstadt mit hoher Lebensqualität positioniert und mit der Forcierung zahlreicher kultureller Aktivitäten und Institutionen schließlich im Jahre 2003 erfolgreich als Kulturhauptstadt Europas präsentiert. Die Bewerbung der Stadt Graz als UNESCO Creative City war daher eine logische Folge dieser Entwicklung, mit dem Ziel, sich weiterhin als ein „kreatives Zentrum Europas“ im internationalen Wettbewerb der Städte und Regionen zu profilieren. Die darauf folgende Kampagne „City of Design zu sein heißt, ...“ kommuniziert die komplexen Aspekte von Design auf einfache und leicht verständliche Weise, indem sie aufklärt, informiert, anregt und begeistert. Ihre Besonderheit – und das unterscheidet sie von klassischen Kampagnen – ist die aktive Einbindung von Akteuren, die sich konstruktiv mit dem Designbegriff auseinandersetzen und für Graz zurechtrücken.

09. März - 01. Mai 2011

Every Body is a Universe

Ausstellung

Für das Grazer Designduo White Elephant – Tobias Kestel und Florian Puschmann – ist Werkstoff nicht gleich Werkstoff. Sie fühlen sich vielmehr dem Wesen des Materials verpflichtet und sind auf der permanenten Suche nach dessen verborgenen Qualitäten. Dies setzt umfangreiche Recherchen über Beschaffenheit, Form und Funktion des Arbeitsmaterials voraus, aber auch darüber, was die Grenzen der Leistung und Verarbeitbarkeit anbelangt. In der Werkschau werden Studienobjekte, Möbel, Leuchten, technische Produkte sowie experimentelle Projekte der letzten Jahre gezeigt. Zu sehen sind dabei nicht nur die Stücke selbst, sondern auch der Gestaltungsprozess und die dahinter stehenden Überlegungen. Das Ergebnis ist eine abwechslungsreiche Entdeckungsreise durch die Geschichte der Objekte. 11.900 Besucherinnen und Besucher haben die Ausstellung gesehen.

20. März 2011

Design von GRA-Z

Stadtmöblierung

Bei „Design von GRA-Z“ von Johanna Prechtl steht Kommunikationsdesign im Vordergrund. Die Möbel selbst sind eine Reduktion auf die simple Form von Buchstaben. Überdimensional dienen sie als Sitz- und Liegeflächen und auch zum Transportieren von Informationen. Genau dieser Aspekt macht das Projekt vielseitig einsetzbar. Je nach Buchstabe kann ein Bezug zur Umgebung geschaffen werden, ergänzt durch Zusatzinformationen, die aufgedruckt werden können.

 

Das erste Stadtmöblierungsprojekt, das „Getier“ von Thomas Perz und Petrus Gartler, ist bereits im September 2010 aufgestellt worden. Es beschreibt die Sitzbank nicht mehr als starren Fremdkörper, sondern als Symbionten mit seiner Umgebung. Es wird formal und funktional der Bezug zu Flora und Fauna gesucht. Die so entstandenen Wesen, die sich durch einen Mechanismus in den Beinen tatsächlich bewegen, sind am Boden angekettet. Dennoch sind sie mobil und können innerhalb des Radius, den die Kettenlänge vorgibt, umgestellt werden.

06. Mai - 05. Juni 2011

Vom 6. Mai bis 5. Juni 2011 steht Design im Zentrum des Interesses der Stadt. Insgesamt werden bei den 51 Veranstaltungen des Designmonat Graz in der UNESCO City of Design 58.000 Besucher gezählt. Auch 2011 ist ein enorm dichtes Programm zu sehen, das die Creative Industries Styria in Zusammenarbeit mit den Designinitiativen und -institutionen sowie Unternehmen aus der Kreativwirtschaft gebündelt hat. So zeigt der Designmonat ein buntes Kaleidoskop kreativer Leistungen und macht das Schaffen der steirischen Kreativwirtschaft sicht- und spürbar. Nach dem Eröffnungstag in Kooperation mit der FH Joanneum samt Party im ehemaligen Taggerwerk folgen intensive 4 Wochen mit vielen Höhepunkten, darunter das Mode- und Designfestival assembly, die Unkonferenz BarCamp zu vier verschiedenen Themen sowie ein Design-Thinking mit dem Thema „Mur als Lebensraum“.

07. Mai 2011

Neueröffnung
des fashionLAB

Das fashionLAB, ein 2010 von der Creative Industries Styria initiiertes Netzwerk in Ladengestalt, setzt auf die lokale und steirische Modeszene. In den Räumen eines ehemaligen Supermarkts findet sich auf 300 Quadratmetern Mode im Avantgarde-Stil: selten und bewusst flüchtig, aber bezahlbar. Im Zuge der Neugestaltung hat das fashionLAB Graz auch eine neue Veranstaltungs-Reihe erarbeitet, bei der die Designer/innen ihr Engagement auch abseits der Modewelt zeigen können. In regelmäßigen Abständen werden dabei aktuelle Themen präsentiert und spannende Verbindungen zum Modebereich hergestellt.

11. Mai - 30. Juni 2011

James Dyson –
Sturm gegen den Stillstand

Ausstellung

Mit der Ausstellung „James Dyson – Sturm gegen den Stillstand“ blickt das designforum Steiermark hinter die Kulissen eines innovativen Technologieunternehmens. Die Schau bietet keine klassische Produktpräsentation, sondern inszeniert die Wege – von der Problemstellung über die ersten gezeichneten Skizzen bis zum serienfähigen Staubsauger, Händetrockner oder Ventilator. Der britische Designer und Entrepreneur James Dyson (*1947) gründete im Jahr 1993 das heute in 50 Länder der Welt exportierende und mittlerweile rund 2.500 Mitarbeiter/innen zählende Technologieunternehmen Dyson Ltd. Seine Innovation – der beutellose Staubsauger ohne Saugkraftverlust – revolutionierte die seit 1901 praktisch unveränderte Staubsaugertechnologie. Seit Kurzem setzt Dyson auch neue Standards in den Produktbereichen Händetrockner und Ventilatoren. Dyson besitzt für mehr als 300 verschiedene Erfindungen fast 1.300 Patente und Patentanmeldungen und hat damit nach Rolls Royce die zweithöchste Anzahl von Patentanmeldungen in Großbritannien registriert.

13. Mai 2011

CODE Graz

Poster-Wettbewerb

Der Posterwettbewerb wird in acht Cities of Design ausgetragen. Teilnahmeberechtigt sind Grafikdesigner, Illustratoren und Fotografen, die in einer City of Design leben oder arbeiten. Insgesamt haben 49 heimische und internationale Kreative ihre Vorstellungen zur City of Design Graz eingereicht. Die maximal zehn besten Entwürfe jeder Stadt werden in eine Ausstellung zusammengefasst. Graz nimmt mit fünf Arbeiten teil, die in Buenos Aires und Montréal gezeigt werden. Die Poster sollen den „genetischen Code“ der Städte erarbeiten und veranschaulichen, was Berlin, Buenos Aires und die anderen Cities of Design einzigartig macht. Der Grafikdesigner Paul Scherübl konnte die Jury in Graz überzeugen. Er ging mit seinem Entwurf als Sieger des Wettbewerbs hervor.

01. Juli - 04. September 2011

Industrial Design Show 2011

Ausstellung

Die Studierenden des Diplom- und Bachelorstudiums Industrial Design an der FH Joanneum geben in der Industrial Design Show 2011 Einblicke in ihre aktuellen Projekt- und Diplomarbeiten. Damit diesen Arbeiten auch mehr Aufmerksamkeit zuteil wird, hat man sich dazu entschlossen, sie nicht nur an der Fachhochschule zu zeigen, sondern im designforum Steiermark im Kunsthaus Graz. Die Leistungsschau zeigt Design-Impulse in Form von Skizzen, Modellen und Animationen aus den Bereichen Produkt und Transport. Die Themen reichen von ästhetisch ambitionierten „Speedformen“ über originelle Verpackungen für Olivenöl bis zum luxuriösen Luftschiff für zwei Personen. Das Projektthema „Individual Urban Mobility“ wurde von Magna Steyr in Graz vorgegeben. Der Studiengang Industrial Design der FH Joanneum veranstaltet seine jährliche Degree Show erstmals in Kooperation mit dem designforum Steiermark im Kunsthaus. Knapp 13.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher haben die Ausstellung gesehen.

12. September - 30. Oktober 2011

In Touch with
the Product Line

Ausstellung

Die Werkschau im designforum Steiermark zeigt das vielfältige Portfolio von Edelweiss Industrial Design. Präsentiert werden Outdoor-Sitzmöbel, Konsumgüter wie ein digitales Lawinensuchgerät, Rasierapparate, außerdem ein Bösendorfer-Flügel, Medizintechnik, Werkzeuge und ein skurriler Lippenvibrator für Orchestermusiker. Dabei stehen nicht nur die Produkte selbst im Fokus, sondern die einzelnen Schritte ihrer Entstehung, von der intensiven Recherche und Problemanalyse über die ersten Skizzen bis zum serienfähigen Produkt. Die Philosophie von Edelweiss Industrial Design ist so pointiert wie nachhaltig: „Wir brauchen keine neuen Produkte, falls überhaupt, bessere.“ Seit der Gründung von Edelweiss Industrial Design im Jahr 2005 arbeiten Roman Wratschko, Philipp Haselwander und Georg Wanker als externe Berater eng mit der Industrie zusammen. Ihr Motto: Gutes Design für alle ist möglich!

04. November 2011 - 08. Januar 2012

design8en 2011

Verkaufsausstellung

design8en präsentiert ausgewählte Objekte, Geschenke und Kleinserien in der Weihnachts-Verkaufsausstellung im designforum Steiermark im Kunsthaus Graz. Um die Auswahl der Produkte für das Publikum zu erweitern, wurden Designerinnen und Designer österreichweit eingeladen, ihre Produkte einzureichen. Über 13.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher haben die Arbeiten von rund 20 Labels gesehen und die Gelegenheit genutzt, zu Weihnachten aus einer Vielfalt an kreativen und außergewöhnlichen Geschenkideen auszuwählen. design8en ist eine Initiative der designforen Steiermark und Vorarlberg, in Kooperation mit dem Museum Shop Management und dem Livid Departmentstore Dornbirn.

11. November 2011

City of Design T-Shirt-Contest

Call for Ideas

Der T-Shirt-Contest sucht nach Motiven, die das Thema „Graz – UNESCO City of Design“, gedruckt auf 100% Bio-Baumwoll-Shirts, transportieren. Kriterien sind die gestalterische Qualität, die Aufbereitung des Sujets für den Siebdruck sowie eine für alle Größen und für beide Geschlechter geeignete Motivgestaltung. Produziert werden Shirts für Damen und Herren in den Größen XS – XL. Platz 1 geht an Boris Clenet, Frankreich, mit dem Sujet „Uhrturm“, Platz 2 an den in Graz lebenden Mexikaner Julian Castro („Lederhose“), und Platz 3 geht an das Kreativduo „Paul Alltag“ (Christian Alltag und Paul Scherübel) aus Österreich („Friendly Alien“). Aus den 45 internationalen Einreichungen wird der Sieger des Wettbewerbs, Boris Clenet aus Frankreich, am 9. Februar präsentiert.

01. Dezember 2011

HERZlich

Eröffnung des Flagship Stores von Jugend am Werk

Auf der Fläche des ehemaligen Kerzengeschäfts Herzl entsteht der neue Jugend-am-Werk-Shop, dessen Name – HERZlich – nicht einfach nur eine Anspielung auf den vorherigen Firmennamen ist, sondern für die Vision steht, die Jugend am Werk verfolgt, nämlich alle Menschen am allgemeinen Arbeitsmarkt teilhaben zu lassen und ihnen Wertschätzung entgegenzubringen. Mit dem Laden vergrößert Jugend am Werk seinen Absatzmarkt für Produkte aus den eigenen Produktionsschulen, auch das Mobiliar für den Laden wurde fast zur Gänze in den Jugend-am-Werk-Produktionsschulen und Werkstätten hergestellt. Darüber hinaus ist er Informationsstelle rund um die Werkstätten und trägt dazu bei, das Selbstvertrauen der dort tätigen arbeitssuchenden Jugendlichen zu stärken.

Top