Being City of Design for three years means three years of tireless effort for a topic which will greatly influence the shaping of the future. For the city and regional development, relying on design as an important element is a decision which needs a strong political will and strong-willed economic and political players. Styria as a whole and especially Graz benefit from the clear commitment to UNESCO’s goals and the Creative Cities Network.

Graz has everything a creative melting pot needs: powerful creative industries with a significant share in the total value creation. A broadly based and internationally aligned educational and training landscape for designers. Plus an atmosphere open to innovation and experiment in an urban environment that is home to every second creative industries company in Styria.

 

With the selection of Graz as a UNESCO City of Design we have grasped the unique opportunity for positioning our city among other leading creative urban centres in an international context. Graz is now a member of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network and as such a partner of the great metropolitan cities of the world such as Shanghai, Berlin or Buenos Aires. Graz the UNESCO City of Design is far more than a mere title. Creativity is a vital raw material, which has proved its enormous value in countless products and services. Over the past few years Graz has frequently served as an international platform for creativity, for example during the annual Designmonat, which brings together a vibrant collection of ideas for companies and shows them how they can use design for all their special needs.

 

We must continue to do everything we can to establish and further develop Graz as one of the most dynamic locations in Europe. Furthermore the naming of Graz as a UNESCO City of Design is a mission for the future linked to clear objectives and for which there is also a clear political commitment. This commitment will mean actively filling the years ahead of us with life – with ideas, with innovation, with new ways of thinking and with a clear political and economic mandate. We aim to increase employment in the creative scene still further. We intend to establish design and creativity as formal principles in our city and to continue on the successful path of Graz as a UNESCO City of Design.

 

Mag. Siegfried Nagl

MAYOR, CITY OF GRAZ

The creative industries are a long established cross-sectional element for the major core issues of the Economic Strategy 2020 in the dynamic business location Styria: environmental technology, life sciences and mobility will call the tune in the coming years and decades.

 

Styria was named European Entrepreneurial Region 2013 by the EU Committee of the Regions – and with an R&D ratio of 7.4 % it is already number one in Austria. Our mission is to further strengthen the potential of the creative industries and by doing so to demonstrate that creativity and design are crucial components of social and economic progress.

 

When we established Creative Industries Styria in 2007 the foundation stone was already laid for the Graz UNESCO City of Design application. Today, almost three years after Graz was named a UNESCO City of Design, it is quite plain: this distinction is not the finale, but only the start of a challenging mission, which is to add power to the significance of creativity and to ensure that it is networked ever more intensively with crafts, trade and industry. The relevance of design is never more evident than in their products and services: as a business location asset, as a unique distinguishing factor in product development and as an effective lever at work in the business location Styria.

 

Dr. Christian Buchmann

REGIONAL MINISTER FOR ECONOMY, EUROPE & CULTURE

Design. A single word with so many associations. A term that can cover many different meanings that do not at first appear to have much in common. But one thing is certain: the concept of design is always a concept of quality, even when design is simply used as a prefix, as a one syllable statement put in front of “fashion”, “shoes” or “outlet”. “What is the task of design?” continues to be a meaningful question we pose that demands an answer – both in modern and contemporary terms. Design is far more than the mere styling of products; it is the establishing of a link between form and function as an intelligent solution creating tangible value and real uses for people.

 

Graz – a UNESCO City of Design since March 2011 and as a direct consequence a member of the UNESCO Creative City Network – is thoroughly committed to making design a central issue. And to do this wherever it is perceived, meaning in the city environment itself, in exhibitions, at festivals and in a great many other situations ranging from the large number of small and big events, calls and competitions, in walks and talks, at presentations and discussions, all of these are well suited for bringing the term ‘design’ across to people in a sound and adequate way, for presenting it in a comprehensive form and thoroughly adjusting it when necessary to meet the requirements. The current activity report can thus be read entirely in line with the following scenario: as the documentation for a complex process of opening up awareness. It naturally involves a great deal more than this too: it points to the chances and potentials that arise for positioning a city such as Graz, it provides a taste of future developments in the areas of product design, it points out the role of design in a social context where everyone can be a participant, moreover extending the horizon and seeing developments in their global setting. Quite simply: it shows all that design is capable of.

 

We are not by any means dealing with a thin ridge of the landscape here in Graz and in Styria, but we are up against a terrain that needs to be ever better prepared: latest estimates indicate that some 410,000 people in Europe are currently working in the design field here and they are responsible for an annual turnover of 36 billion euros. Styria is a leader in the field with around 4,000 creative industry companies and one billion euros gross value added from the core creative industries alone. This means: design and its significance for the economy as a whole is not a niche issue, nor an orchid growing side-line, it is a central factor for the economy and the creation of value. Because design involves us all! A UNESCO City of Design has every right to pride itself on this development. And this is also a fact that emerges from the report. Three years as a City of Design have turned the international spotlights on Graz; the city has become a hub and fulcrum not only for the region, but extending far beyond it. Join us on this journey through the past three years. And pass on the word to others on all you have seen or read about Graz.

 

This activity report for 2011 to 2013 shows what activities Graz carried out as a UNESCO City of Design, including numerous local events such as Designmonat Graz and international projects that were chiefly realised in the frame of UNESCO Creative Cities Network.

 

Mag. Eberhard Schrempf

CEO, CREATIVE INDUSTRIES STYRIA

Graz as a UNESCO City of Design

 

Graz joined the Creative Cities Network as a UNESCO City of Design on 14 March 2011. This date not only marks a beginning, but also the conclusion of a long and intensive period of preparation which laid the foundation stone for the later UNESCO City of Design activities of the Styrian provincial capital.

 

The application made by Graz cannot be seen aside from the context of the complex series of developments, which included one of the most important milestones in the history of the city: the successful hosting of the European Cultural Capital year 2003. “Graz 2003 – European Capital of Culture” brought pioneer work for the international positioning of Graz in so many respects and it remains to this day a living example of successful organisation and implementation for an enormously complex task. Graz rose to international prominence with the Cultural Capital year, through spectacular architectural projects such as the Kunsthaus Graz or the Murinsel artificial island, which contributed greatly to developing the image of Graz as a city of cultural sophistication and the arts that is open to the world.

 

Positioning is a crucial advantage in the competition between cities for those which like Graz are “second cities” – and not internationally known capitals. In the case of Graz this development took a decisive stride in the direction of the creative industries. By November 2006 the Styrian Joanneum Research institute had already published the “Potential Analysis of the Creative Economy in Graz and its Surroundings” – pointing out all the excellent opportunities that exist for the creative industries in Styria. The report was full of dramatic headings and catch phrases like “integral component”, “creative potential in entirely new areas”, “boosting employment figures”, “a model for the economy of the future” and they were a further clarion call to get active and support the development and expansion of the creative industries. Political reaction to these developments was fast and efficient. The creative industries were declared a major strength of the Styrian economy. All that lacked now was the installation of a central hub, a network organisation capable of functioning as a contact point for the concerns and issues of the creative people involved. Creative Industries Styria was established in 2007 to provide this function and it has been carrying out important development and networking activities ever since, promoting cohesion within the creative scene and enabling targeted communication to the outside world from this focal centre. It takes on the roles of an agency and a contact partner in this work, serving both creative industry companies and other businesses interested in cooperation and partnerships with these creative firms.

 

Creative Industries Styria initiated a broad spectrum of activities in its function as an application manager from 2008, to sound out expectations and resistance and above all to enter into an active communication process with the local stakeholders. The chances and opportunities arising from a UNESCO City of Design application were all weighed up in numerous talks and discussion rounds with people from the creative industries. The “City of Design Board” – an advisory expert body – was set up to provide strategic support for the many activities in the context of the UNESCO City of Design. A first draft of the application was submitted to UNESCO in Paris in July 2009 and following a number of revisions it was made available for expert appraisal in June 2010. What made the Graz application so special was the open and public manner in which the entire application process was handled. The “public” aspect here was keeping the people of the city informed from the start about each successive procedure step. The application itself was published as a magazine achieving a broad readership and bringing in as many participating people as possible. Other very good reasons prompted this effort too; “design” is a relatively vague term in German and not something for presenting to people with no preparation or explanations. A contemporary understanding of design does not focus on a finishing touch or surface flourishes, but on the provision of form and shape in a fully integrated process through all the development phases of products and services for our society. It is precisely in this wider dimension of design - a context not immediately apparent to many people - that tangible design policy measures need to be established and communicated. Design and the creative industries, however, were emerging as issues of major significance throughout this period and as subjects for thoroughly controversial discussion. A vitally important objective has been achieved as a result, that of establishing design as a general concern for society. The greater the level of vital support that has poured in here from many sources – and by no means only from the creative industries themselves – the stronger the resistance, or even rejection, the issue has also encountered. Design as a comprehensive creative process appeared altogether too unfamiliar to some, and capacity to deal with it in these terms had clearly never been acquired previously. The powerful political will to establish the design issue in city and regional policy is highly gratifying in this context, while in contrast the largely instinctive scepticism and ignorance with which it is often instinctively blocked is sobering.

 

Graz as a “Candidate City” actively used the period until the decision was made to further develop and establish its positioning as a city of design. Because one thing was plain to everyone involved: even if acceptance in the UNESCO Creative Cities Network was not forthcoming, the focus on design and the creative industries would on no account be abandoned. This period was used for example for the intensive work on the development of the Designmonat Graz, which since its beginnings in 2009 has firmly established itself as a regular event on the calendar for domestic and international creative designers. The Designmonat Graz has succeeded in bundling and condensing all the energy of the creative industries within a single four week period, making it clearly visible to all, with the objective of establishing the broadest possible awareness for the significance of design as an important economic success factor.

 

Extending beyond this, Creative Industries Styria has initiated numerous projects for making the issue of design in the city visible to everyone. These include the “Jakominiviertel” city quarter project, which has attracted great international attention by the settling and establishing of creative industries in what had previously been a structurally weak area; the “City Furnishing” and “Designers in Residence” projects for bringing designers and entrepreneurs together, or the “Experiencing Business” scheme, which has made Styrian companies accessible to a large public with highly ambitious works tours together with designers. Creative Industries Styria simultaneously reinforced its global network activities to give Graz an even more forceful presence in the international arena. South East Asia was chosen as a major focus in this work. Design as a vital business issue for Graz takes its place in a thoroughly appealing business environment: companies here show enormous innovative strength, while the city has a high density of universities and institutions of higher learning. All of this is linked to creative industries with a substantial share in the gross value added – an altogether remarkable starting point for achieving powerful international presence. International networking was thus an important priority for Graz on this solid foundation long before the repositioning as a City of Design. Graz as a seat of learning and a city with a very high student population (61.300 in total) has long exerted a strong pull throughout southern and south-eastern Europe. It was thus no surprise that the networking activities thrust ahead and made great advances in this region too during the UNESCO City of Design application process. Relationships were sought with existing members of the UNESCO Creative Cities Network, and also to every other metropolis with a flourishing design scene. Maintaining contact with those partners will not only allow us to benchmark our own position, but will also provide incentives on how to establish global design on a local basis, thus creating fruitful relations with the economy as a whole. The Styrian designforum was established at the Kunsthaus Graz in 2010. It is one of 3 Austrian-wide designforums which give designers and design projects the opportunity to reach a broad public through modern presentation and exhibition areas in the centre of the city. This, in turn, will pave the way for a centre of urban dialogue, competence and communication that addresses all aspects of design in its many different forms.

 

When Graz was appointed a UNESCO City of Design, a Key Account Management office was immediately installed in the Department of Economic Affairs and Tourism Development. This strategically important office serves as an interface and information hub with the aim of familiarising all municipal administration units with the subject of City of Design. Among its tasks are regular meetings with the heads of all twenty-eight municipal departments. In addition to communicating information, the aim is also to identify starting points and potential projects in order to ensure active involvement of the departments and to firmly entrench an inclusive, modern concept of design in the long term. Networking and internationality remain at the focus of activities after 2011 too, as reflected in the association’s own formats.Networking and an international profile have remained an important focus of activity even after Graz had been selected as a UNESCO City of Design in 2011, with an effect also extending to the own medial formats. The Designmonat Graz is intentionally global. Two UNESCO Cities of Design have so far been directly represented in Graz: Buenos Aires in 2012 and Nagoya in 2013. Saint-Étienne is on the programme for 2014. The French city has been a UNESCO City of Design since 2011 and among other activities it was the destination for a Creative Industries Styria Network visit in October 2013; the City of Graz had already participated in the Saint-Étienne Design Biennale 2013 in the spring. The City of Graz, Department of Economic Affairs and Tourism Development, itself moved the UNESCO City of Design issue even more firmly into the centre of attention in autumn 2013 by establishing an own administrative office (“Creative City Management”).

Top

3 Jahre City of Design, das bedeutet drei Jahre unermüdlicher Einsatz für ein Thema, das einen wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Gestaltung der Zukunft haben wird. Für die Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung auf Design als eine wichtige Komponente zu setzen, ist eine Entscheidung, die einen starken politischen Willen und durchsetzungsstarke Akteure in Wirtschaft und Politik braucht. Die Steiermark im Allgemeinen und Graz im Besonderen profitieren von diesem klaren Commitment.

Graz hat alles, was es für einen kreativen Schmelztiegel braucht: Eine starke Kreativwirtschaft, die einen beträchtlichen Anteil an der gesamten Wertschöpfung ausmacht. Eine breit aufgestellte, international ausgerichtete Bildungs- und Ausbildungslandschaft für Designschaffende. Und ein offenes Klima für Innovationen und Experimente mit einer urbanen Lebenswelt, in der fast jedes zweite steirische Kreativunternehmen zu Hause ist.

 

Mit der Ernennung von Graz als UNESCO City of Design haben wir die einmalige Chance ergriffen, die Stadt im internationalen Kontext mit anderen kreativen Städten zu positionieren. Graz ist nun Mitglied im Creative Cities Network der UNESCO und damit Partner von Weltmetro--polen wie Shanghai, Berlin oder Buenos Aires. Graz als UNESCO City of Design ist mehr als ein Titel. Kreativität ist ein wichtiger Rohstoff, der sich in unzähligen Produkten und Dienstleistungen bewährt hat. In den letzten Jahren war Graz mehrmals internationale Bühne für Kreative, etwa während des jährlichen Designmonats, der eine pulsierende

Sammlung von Ideen für Unternehmen darstellt.

 

Wir müssen weiterhin alles daran setzen, Graz als einen der dynamischsten Standorte in Europa zu festigen und auszubauen. Die Ernennung von Graz als UNESCO City of Design ist weiterhin ein Auftrag an die Zukunft, der mit klaren Zielen verknüpft ist und für den es auch ein klares politisches Bekenntnis gibt. Ein Bekenntnis, das es auch in den nächsten Jahren gilt, aktiv mit Leben zu füllen – mit Ideen, mit Innovationen, mit neuen Denkweisen und mit klarem politischem und wirtschaftlichem Auftrag. Wir peilen eine weitere Steigerung der Beschäftigten in der Kreativszene an. Wir wollen Design und Kreativität als Gestaltungsprinzipien in der Stadt etablieren und den erfolgreichen Weg von Graz als UNESCO City of Design weitergehen.

 

Mag. Siegfried Nagl

BURGERMEISTER DER STADT GRAZ

Die Kreativwirtschaft hat sich in den letzten Jahren als wesentliches Stärkefeld des Wirtschaftsstandortes Steier-mark etabliert. In der „Wirtschaftsstrategie Steiermark 2020“ ist die Kreativwirtschaft als Querschnittsmaterie verankert, die in allen Branchen eine wichtige Rolle spielt: die Kreativ-wirtschaft macht die Innovationen „made in Styria“ sichtbar.

 

Mit einer regionalen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsquote von 4,7 Prozent zählt die Steiermark unter den 274 Regionen Europas zu den innovativsten. Innovation hat immer mit Kreativität zu tun. Unser Auftrag besteht daher darin, das Potenzial der Kreativwirtschaft weiter zu stärken und damit zu zeigen, dass Kreativität und Design unverzichtbare Bestandteile des gesell-schaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Fortschritts sind. Schon im Jahr 2007 haben wir mit der Gründung der  Creative Industries Styria den Grundstein für die Bewerbung von Graz zur UNESCO City of Design gelegt.

 

Jetzt sind drei Jahre seit der Ernennung von Graz zur UNESCO City of Design vergangen und eines ist klar: Diese Auszeichnung ist nicht das Finale, sondern der Beginn eines herausfordernden Auftrages, nämlich die Kreativszene mit Handwerk, Gewerbe und Industrie erfolgreich zu vernetzen. Denn nur wenn wir über Grenzen hinaus denken und handeln, können wir unsere internationale Spitzenposition halten und die Unternehmen können zusätzliche Arbeitsplätze schaffen.

 

Dr. Christian Buchmann

LANDESRAT FÜR WIRTSCHAFT, EUROPA & KULTUR

Design. Ein Wort, das viele Assoziationen weckt. Und ein Begriff, der vieles umfasst, was auf den ersten Blick gar nicht damit gemeint zu sein scheint. Eines steht fest: Die Vorstellung von Design ist immer eine Vorstellung von Qualität, und sei es nur dann, wenn Design als Präfix, als Vorsilbe von „Mode“, „Schuhe“ oder „Outlet“ herhalten muss. „Welche Aufgabe hat Design?“ ist also eine Frage, die nach wie vor zu stellen und zu beantworten ist – und zwar in einem modernen, zeitgemäßen Sinn. Design ist mehr als das bloße Stylen von Produkten, es ist die Verknüpfung von Gestaltung und Funktion zu einer intelligenten Lösung, die konkreten Nutzen für die Menschen hervorbringt.

 

Graz – seit März 2011 UNESCO City of Design und damit Mitglied im Creative Cities Network der UNESCO – macht Design konsequent zum Thema. Und zwar dort, wo es auch wahrgenommen wird, nämlich im Stadtraum, in Ausstellungen, bei Festivals und vielem mehr, bei vielen kleinen und größeren Veranstaltungen, Calls und Wettbewerben, bei Walks und Talks, bei Vorträgen und Diskussionen, die alle geeignet sind, den Begriff Design für die Menschen aufzubereiten, umfassend darzustellen und gegebenenfalls konsequent zurechtzurücken. Man kann den vorliegenden Tätigkeitsbericht also durchaus unter diesen Vorzeichen lesen: als Dokumentation eines komplexen Prozesses der Bewusstmachung. Freilich ist er noch viel mehr: Er zeigt Chancen und Potenziale für die Positionierung einer Stadt wie Graz auf, er gibt einen Vorgeschmack auf zukünftige Entwicklungen in den Bereichen Produktdesign, er zeigt die Rolle von Design im Kontext einer Gesellschaft, an der alle teilhaben können, er weitet den Blick und sieht Entwicklungen in einem globalen Zusammenhang. Kurz: Er zeigt, was Design zu leisten imstande ist.

 

Dabei bewegen wir uns in Graz und in der Steiermark keinesfalls auf einem schmalen Grat, sondern auf einem Terrain, das immer besser aufbereitet wird: In Europa arbeiten, Schätzungen zufolge, derzeit 410.000 Menschen im Designbereich und erwirtschaften einen Jahresumsatz von 36 Milliarden Euro. Vorne mit dabei ist die Steiermark mit rund 4.000 Unternehmen im Kreativbereich und einer Milliarde Bruttowertschöpfung in den kreativen Kernbranchen. Das heißt: Design und seine gesamtwirtschaftliche Bedeutung sind kein Nischenthema und kein Orchideenfach, sondern ein Faktor für Wirtschaft und Wertschöpfung. Denn Design geht uns alle an!

 

Eine UNESCO City of Design kann auf diese Entwicklungen zu Recht stolz sein. Und auch das lässt sich aus diesem Bericht herauslesen. Denn drei Jahre City of Design haben Graz zu einem international viel beachteten Ort gemacht, einem Dreh- und Angelpunkt in der Region, aber auch weit darüber hinaus. Begleiten Sie uns also auf dieser Reise durch die vergangenen drei Jahre! Und erzählen Sie ruhig weiter, was Sie in Graz gesehen oder über Graz gelesen haben!

 

Der vorliegende Report für die Jahre 2011 – 2013 zeigt, welche Aktivitäten Graz als UNESCO City of Design gesetzt hat. Dazu zählen lokale Events wie beispielsweise der Designmonat Graz ebenso wie internationale Projekte, die zumeist im Rahmen des Creative Cities Network der UNESCO realisiert wurden.

 

Mag. Eberhard Schrempf

CREATIVE INDUSTRIES STYRIA, GESCHÄFTSFÜHRUNG

Graz als UNESCO City of Design

 

Am 14. März 2011 ist Graz als UNESCO City of Design in das Netzwerk der Creative Cities aufgenommen worden. Dieses Datum markiert nicht nur einen Anfang, sondern auch den Abschluss einer langen und intensiven Vorarbeit, die den Grundstein für die späteren UNESCO City of Design-Aktivitäten der steirischen Landeshauptstadt legte.

 

Man kann die Bewerbung von Graz nicht losgelöst von einem komplexeren Entwicklungsstrang sehen, der einen wichtigen Meilenstein in der Grazer Stadtgeschichte einschließt: die erfolg-reiche Durchführung des Kulturhauptstadtjahres 2003. „Graz 2003 – Kulturhauptstadt Europas“ hat in vielerlei Hinsicht Pionierarbeit für die internationale Positionierung von Graz geleistet und steht heute noch als ein gelungenes Beispiel für die Organisation und Realisation dieser komplexen Aufgabe. Mit dem Kulturhauptstadtjahr hat Graz internationale Bekanntheit erlangt, etwa durch spektakuläre Architektur-Umsetzungen wie das Kunsthaus Graz oder die Murinsel, die viel dazu beigetragen haben, dass Graz das Image als weltoffene, kunst- und kulturaffine Stadt aufbauen konnte.

 

Im Wettbewerb der Städte, die wie Graz „Second City“ sind – also nicht international bekannte Hauptstädte –, ist eine klare Positionierung von entscheidendem Vorteil. Im Fall von Graz hat sich die Entwicklung in Richtung Kreativwirtschaft klar abgezeichnet.Schon im November 2006 veröffentlichte die steirische Forschungseinrichtung Joanneum Research die „Potenzialanalyse Kreativwirtschaft im Großraum Graz“ – mit guten Aussichten für die steirische Kreativwirtschaft. „Integraler Bestandteil“, „kreative Potenziale in völlig neuen Bereichen“, „Zunahme der Beschäftigungszahlen“, „ein Modell einer zukünftigen Wirtschaft“ lauteten die Schlagworte aus dem Bericht und sie waren eine mehr als eindeutige Aufforderung, aktiv zu werden und den Bereich der Kreativwirtschaft unterstützend auf- und auszubauen. Die Politik hat auf diese Entwicklungen schnell und effizient reagiert. Die Kreativwirtschaft wurde zum Stärkefeld der steirischen Wirtschaft erklärt. Was noch fehlte, war die Installation einer zentralen Drehscheibe, eine Netzwerkgesellschaft, die als Anlaufstelle für die Anliegen der Kreativen dienen kann. Die 2007 gegründete Creative Industries Styria erfüllt nunmehr diese Aufgabe und leistet seither wichtige Aufbau- und Vernetzungsarbeit, um den Zusammenhalt in der kreativen Szene zu fördern und ein zielgerichtetes Kommunizieren nach außen zu ermöglichen. Dabei nimmt sie die Rolle einer Vermittlerin und einer Ansprechpartnerin ein, und zwar sowohl für Unternehmen aus dem Bereich der Kreativwirtschaft als auch für jene Betriebe, die an Kooperationen und Partnerschaften mit Kreativunternehmen interessiert sind.

 

Die Creative Industries Styria initiierte ab 2008 in ihrer Funktion als Bewerbungsmanagerin eine Fülle von Aktivitäten, um Erwartungen und Widerstände auszuloten und vor allem in einen aktiven Kommunikationsprozess mit den lokalen Akteuren zu treten. In zahlreichen Gesprächs- und Diskussionsrunden mit Vertretern der Kreativwirtschaft wurden Chancen und Möglichkeiten einer Bewerbung als UNESCO City of Design diskutiert, das „City of Design Board“ – ein beratendes Expertengremium – wurde zur strategischen Begleitung der Aktivitäten zum Thema UNESCO City of Design installiert. Die Bewerbung selbst wurde in ihrer ersten Fassung im Juli 2009 bei der UNESCO in Paris eingereicht und lag nach einigen Überarbeitungen im Juni 2010 zur Begutachtung vor. Was die Grazer Bewerbung besonders gemacht hat, war die Öffentlichkeit, mit der dieser Prozess durchgeführt wurde. „Öffentlich“ bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang, dass die Bevölkerung von Anfang über den bevorstehenden Schritt informiert wurde. Die Bewerbung selbst wurde als Zeitschrift veröffentlicht und sollte dadurch die Teilhabe möglichst vieler Menschen sicherstellen. Dafür gab es auch gute Gründe, denn „Design“ ist ein im deutschen Sprachraum etwas unscharfer Begriff, den man Menschen nicht unvorbereitet und vor allem unkommentiert vorsetzen sollte. Ein zeitgenössischer Designbegriff konzentriert sich nicht auf die nachträgliche Gestaltung von Oberflächen unterschiedlicher Art, sondern ist vielmehr ein ganzheitlicher Gestaltungsprozess in allen Phasen der Entwicklung von Produkten, Dienstleistungen und Services für die Gesellschaft. Gerade hinsichtlich dieser für viele Menschen nicht offensichtlichen, größeren Dimension von Design ist es eine Herausforderung, konkrete designpolitische Maßnahmen zu erarbeiten und zu kommunizieren. Design und Kreativwirtschaft sind jedoch im Laufe der Zeit zu Themen geworden, die überaus kontrovers diskutiert werden. Damit ist ein wesentliches Ziel erreicht, nämlich die generelle Thematisierung von Design. So sehr es dabei vitale Unterstützung von vielen Seiten – und das nicht nur aus der Kreativwirtschaft – gibt, so sehr stößt das Thema auch auf Widerstand oder gar Ablehnung. Zu ungewohnt erscheint Design als umfassender Gestaltungsprozess, ein bewusster Umgang damit wurde bis dato offensichtlich noch nicht gelernt. Erfreulich ist der starke politische Wille, das Thema in die Politik der Stadt und der Region einzubauen, ernüchternd sind die Skepsis und Unwissenheit, mit denen das Thema oftmals reflexartig abgeblockt wird.

 

Als „Candidate City“ hat Graz die Zeit bis zur Entscheidung aktiv genutzt, um seine Positionierung als Designstadt weiter aufzubauen. Denn eines war allen Beteiligten klar: Sollte es zu keiner Aufnahme in das UNESCO Creative Cities Network kommen, dann sollte der Schwerpunkt Design und Kreativwirtschaft keinesfalls aufgegeben werden. So wurde beispielsweise in diesem Zeitraum intensiv am Aufbau des „Designmonat Graz“ gearbeitet, der seit seinem Start im Jahr 2009 zu einem Fixpunkt für heimische und internationale Designschaffende avanciert ist. Der Designmonat Graz bündelt und verdichtet die Energie der Kreativwirtschaft innerhalb eines Monats und macht sie nach außen hin sichtbar, mit dem Ziel, ein möglichst breites Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung des Wirtschaftsfaktors Design zu schaffen.

 

Darüber hinaus hat die Creative Industries Styria zahlreiche Projekte initiiert, um das Thema Design in der Stadt und für die Menschen sichtbar zu machen. Dazu zählen etwa das international viel beachtete Stadtteilprojekt „Jakominiviertel“, bei dem sich Kreativbetriebe in einem strukturschwachen Stadtteil ansiedelten, die Projekte „Stadtmöblierung“ und „Designers in Residence“, das Designer und Unternehmen zusammenführt, oder „Erlebniswelt Wirtschaft“, das steirische Unternehmen einer größeren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich macht, und zwar in anspruchsvollen Erlebnistouren, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Designerinnen und Designern gestaltet werden. Gleichzeitig verstärkte die Creative Industries Styria ihre globalen Netzwerkaktivitäten, um Graz am internationalen Parkett stärker präsent zu machen. Ein Fokus dieser Internationalisierungsaktivitäten liegt dabei im südostasiatischen Raum. Design als Thema der Wirtschaft ist in Graz in ein ansprechendes Umfeld eingebettet: Es gibt eine starke Innovationskraft der Betriebe, eine hohe Dichte an Universitäten und höheren Schulen und einen hohen Anteil der Kreativwirtschaft an der Bruttowertschöpfung – alles in allem gute Voraussetzungen, auch für eine starke inter-nationale Präsenz. Internationale Vernetzung war deshalb bereits ein wichtiges Thema für Graz, lange bevor sich die Stadt als City of Design neu positioniert hat. Gerade im universitären Bereich hatte die Studentenstadt Graz (61.300 Studierende) seit jeher eine starke Strahlkraft in Richtung Süd- und Südosteuropa. Kein Wunder also, dass Vernetzungsaktivitäten auch während des UNESCO City of Design-Bewerbungsprozesses stark forciert wurden. Zum einen suchte man die Verbindung zu Städten, die bereits Mitglieder im Creative Cities Network der UNESCO sind, zum anderen auch zu jenen Metropolen, die für eine starke Designszene bekannt sind. Der Kontakt mit den Partnern erlaubt einerseits ein Benchmarking der eigenen Positionierung, und liefert andererseits Impulse, wie das globale Thema Design lokal präsent werden kann und so fruchtbare Verbindungen mit der Gesamtwirtschaft entstehen. 2010 wurde auch das designforum Steiermark im Kunsthaus Graz ins Leben gerufen. Es ist eines von 3 designforen österreichweit und bietet Designerinnen und Designern sowie designrelevanten Projekten eine moderne Präsentations- und Ausstellungsfläche mitten im Stadtzentrum. Damit entsteht ein urbanes Dialog-, Kompetenz- und Vermittlungszentrum, das alle Facetten des Themas Design in unterschiedlicher Form transportiert.

 

Mit der Ernennung als UNESCO City of Design wurde in Graz ein Key Account Management in der Abteilung für Wirtschafts- und Tourismusentwicklung installiert. Diese strategisch wichtige Position fungiert als Schnittstelle und Informationsdrehscheibe, um alle städtischen Verwaltungseinrichtungen mit dem Thema City of Design vertraut zu machen. Ihre Aufgaben umfassen unter anderem regelmäßige Gespräche mit allen 28 städtischen Abteilungsleitungen. Dabei werden neben der Vermittlung von Information auch Anknüpfungspunkte und mögliche Projekte gesucht, um die Abteilungen aktiv einzubinden und einen inklusiven und modernen Designbegriff langfristig und nachhaltig zu implementieren. Vernetzung und Internationalisierung bleiben nach 2011 ebenfalls im Fokus der Aktivitäten, was sich auch in den eigenen Formaten auswirkt. Der Designmonat Graz legt den Fokus ganz bewusst auf Internationalität. Zwei UNESCO Cities of Design waren bisher in Graz präsent: 2012 Buenos Aires und 2013 Nagoya. Für 2014 steht Saint-Étienne auf dem Programm. Die französische Stadt ist seit 2011 UNESCO City of Design und war unter anderem im Oktober 2013 Ziel einer Creative Industries Styria-Netzwerkreise, bereits im Frühjahr 2013 nahm die Stadt Graz auch an der Designbiennale 2013 in Saint-Étienne teil. Die Stadt Graz, Abteilung für Wirtschafts- und Tourismusentwicklung, rückt selbst das Thema UNESCO City of Design im Herbst 2013 noch stärker ins Zentrum, indem sie eine eigene Geschäftsstelle einrichtet („Creative City Management“).

Top