Graz rocks

The Schlossberg is a constant companion on your way around Graz. Rising high above the roofscape, it is an intrinsic part of the city’s identity, a landmark par excellence. The Schlossberg hill is literally an outstanding feature of Graz. There are several ways of ascending the 475 metres:

Schloßberg funicular railway
Photo: Harry Schiffer for Graz Tourism
Schloßberg funicular railway

The funicular railway has been taking people up the Schlossberg hill ever since 1894. Now the third generation of carriages wind their way 110 metres to the top. The new carriages were designed by students of Industrial Design at the Joanneum University of Applied Sciences.

Schlossberg elevator
Photo: Harry Schiffer for Graz Tourism
Schlossberg elevator

Dim blue light illuminates the 77-metre-long shaft through which the Schlossberg elevator glides upwards, taking visitors directly up to the Clock Tower. This impressive barrier-free entrance to the Schlossberg was designed by architect Rainer Schmid and was opened in 2000. The Dom im Berg is located on the intermediate floor between the Clock Tower and the “ground floor”.

Dom im Berg
Foto: spielstaetten.at
Dom im Berg

The extensive tunnels inside the Schlossberg are home to all manner of special features, for instance the “Dom im Berg” event location. This is a dome-shaped room (architect: Rainer Schmid) covering 688 m² which was carved out of the Schlossberg rock to form an extravagant venue for all kinds of events in the fields of culture, science, politics and business.

Graz rocks

Der Schlossberg begleitet die Menschen in Graz auf Schritt und Tritt. Er erhebt sich über der Dachlandschaft und ist untrennbarer Bestandteil der Grazer Identität – das Markenzeichen schlechthin. Der Schloßberg ist ein im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes herausragender Punkt in der Grazer Stadtlandschaft. Seine 475 Höhenmeter lassen sich auf mehrere Arten zurücklegen:

Schloßbergbahn
Foto: Harry Schiffer für Graz Tourismus
Schloßbergbahn

Seit 1894 gelangt man per Standseilbahn auf den Schloßberg. Inzwischen fährt schon die dritte Generation an Wagen die knapp 110 Meter den Berg hinauf. Gestaltet wurden sie im Rahmen eines Wettbewerbs unter Studierenden des Studiengangs Industrial Design an der FH Joanneum. Das Siegerprojekt stammt von Georg Hagenauer.

Schloßberglift
Foto: Harry Schiffer für Graz Tourismus
Schloßberglift

Schummrig-blaues Licht beleuchtet den 77 Meter hohen Felsenschacht, durch den der Schloßberglift emporschwebt, um seine Fahrgäste direkt neben dem Uhrturm wieder freizugeben. Dieser imposante barrierefreie Zugang zum Schloßberg stammt vom Architekten Rainer Schmid und ist im Jahr 2000 eröffnet worden. Zwischen Uhrturm und „Erdgeschoß“ gibt es noch einen „Zwischenstock“, den Dom im Berg.

Dom im Berg
Foto: spielstaetten.at
Dom im Berg

In den weit verzweigten Schächten des Schloßbergs finden sich allerhand Besonderheiten, etwa die Event-Location „Dom im Berg“. Der 688 Quadratmeter große, kuppelartige Raum  (Architekt: Rainer Schmid) wurde aus dem Felsen des Schloßbergs gehauen und bildet einen extravaganten Rahmen für Veranstaltungen  aus allen Bereichen – ob aus Kultur, Wissenschaft,  Politik oder Wirtschaft.