Gebhart Blazek

As one of the world’s leading experts for antique Moroccan Berber carpets and textiles, Graz art dealer Gebhard Blazek’s passion is to search for rare textiles from various different cultures. Tracking down the most historically significant and artistically valuable creations crafted by Moroccan women is Gebhart Blazek’s specialist area. He was one of the first dealers to recognise the aesthetic and cultural relevance of the Boucherouite rug with its dazzling charm, for which Moroccan weavers recycle used textiles, nylon and Lurex© to create unusually extravagant designs.

 

The carpet expert’s passion also encompasses rare treasures and extraordinary products from various different cultures. He thus not only offers a wide range of nomad rugs originating from regions such as Anatolia, Central Asia, Uzbekistan, Iran/Persia or Tibet, but also modernist European carpets from the 1920s to the 1970s, as well as Rya rugs from Sweden, Finland and other Scandinavian countries.

 

Since 2006, Galerie Blazek.berber.carpets + textiles has been located opposite the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz, within five minutes’ walking distance of the old town of Graz. The gallery regularly presents high-quality artefacts in co-operation with tribal art and furniture expert Udo Gangl, with changing topical exhibitions. With a showroom covering an area of 300m2, this gallery is dedicated to the love of textile art and specialises in working together with international private collections, museums and interior designers in search of exceptional objects.

 

Business hours

Tue - Fri: 11:00 am - 6.30 pm

Sat: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm

Leonhardstrasse 12, 8010 Graz

T: +43 664 214 2241

www.berber-arts.com

Gebhart Blazek

Der leidenschaftlichen Suche nach textilen Raritäten verschiedenster Kulturen hat sich der Grazer Kunsthändler Gebhart Blazek verschrieben, der als einer der wichtigsten Experten für alte marokkanische Berberteppiche und -textilien weltweit gilt. Das Aufspüren der historisch bedeutsamsten und künstlerisch wertvollsten Kreationen der Berberfrauen Marokkos bildet den Schwerpunkt und das Spezialgebiet von Gebhart Blazek. Als einer der ersten Händler hat er ebenfalls die ästhetische und kulturelle Relevanz der charmantschrillen Boucherouite-Teppiche erkannt, in denen marokkanische Weberinnen Alttextilien, Nylon und Lurex recyceln und ungewohnt fantasievoll verarbeiten.

 

Die Passion des Teppichexperten gilt darüber hinaus seltenen Kostbarkeiten und außergewöhnlichen Erzeugnissen aus unterschiedlichen Kulturen. So bietet er nicht nur eine reichhaltige Auswahl an nomadischen Teppichen aus Ursprungsregionen wie Anatolien, Zentralasien, Usbekistan, Iran/Persien oder Tibet an, sondern auch an modernistischen europäischen Teppichen aus der Zeit von 1920 bis 1970 sowie Rya-Teppichen aus Schweden, Finnland und anderen skandinavischen Ländern.

 

Die Galerie Blazek. berber. carpets + textiles befindet sich seit 2006 gegenüber der Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in der Nähe des Stadtparks, fünf Gehminuten vom historischen Stadtzentrum von Graz entfernt. In Kooperation mit dem Stammeskunst- und Möbelspezialisten Udo Gangl wird eine regelmäßige Schau qualitativ hochwertiger Stücke gezeigt, die sich mit spezifischen Themenausstellungen abwechselt. Die Galerie, die sich auf 300 Quadratmetern Ausstellungsfläche der Wertschätzung textiler Kunst widmet, ist auf die Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Privatsammlern, Museen und Innenarchitekten auf der Suche nach außergewöhnlichen Objekten spezialisiert.

 

Öffnungszeiten

Di-Fr: 11:00-18:30 Uhr

Sa: 10:00-13:00 Uhr

Leonhardstrasse 12, 8010 Graz

T: +43 664 214 2241

www.berber-arts.com