JOHN STARDUCK

Cartoon characters „made in Graz“

 

A very interesting member of the Creative Industries Styria’s network is Florian Satzinger, a character designer from Graz who has worked for Walt Disney and Warner Bros. One of his short stories was made into a movie.

 

Worldwide operations from Graz

„Due to the internet, one is location-independent“, explains Satzinger the fact that he is working in Graz while most of his clients live abroad. However, the virtual work won’t do it alone and Satzinger is convinced that “one has to look in the eyes of the clients.” For this reason, he is present on trade fairs and in the Create Talent Network (an artist community for character design). Up to now, he has worked for Walt Disney and Warner Bros (Looney Tunes, Pinky & Brain), Bahlsen, Telekom Austria, Ankama Group, SAT1 and Red Bull (media applications for tv). Furthermore, Satzinger teaches analogue animation, animation history and media analysis at FH Salzburg and is a guest lecturer for character design at VIA University College (Viborg, Denmark).

 

The short story JOHN STARDUCK was made into a movie by the French Tigobo Animation Studios where Satzinger took over the role of the art director and of the director. In April 2013, the pre-production artwork was presented at the Graphic Art Museum in Angouleme, followed by further presentations in Los Angeles, Annecy and at the Cartoon Forum in Toulouse.

The approach of character design

 

After the client explained in a briefing what the figure shall represent, Satzinger collects first ideas: “I follow a silhouette that emerges in my mind”, explains the character designer. Afterwards he draws the figure at the computer. The animation of the drawings will then be developed by 3D graphic designers. ”Just like an architect who develops plans for construction companies, I draw the plans for the graphic designers.” Although the client’s specifications have to be met, Satzinger tries to bring in his own style. Satzinger: “That kind of became my trademark. The people who are assigning me specifically do so because of my distinct style. I try to develop new figures within my style.” His sources of inspiration are i.e. contemporary artists like Erich Wurm. “That does not necessarily correlate with my work but it stimulates.”

 

The native Grazer formerly worked as an illustrator. He recognized that he is good at always coming up with something new, drawing and interpreting figures in a new way. This attribute is ideal for the work in a movie studio where existing figures have to be remodelled or new ones have to be developed. Consequently, Satzinger completed his cartoon studies in Vancouver, Canada. In 1995, he and Nils Homann Hardenberg jointly founded the label Satzinger & Hardenberg. In 2009, Satzinger won the Nemoland Award for character design in Florenz.

www.satzingerhardenberg.com

paperwalker.blogspot.co.at

JOHN STARDUCK

Zeichentrickfiguren „made in Graz"

Ein hochinteressantes Mitglied im Netzwerk der Creative Industries Styria ist Florian Satzinger, der als Character Designer von Graz aus bereits für Walt Disney und Warner Bros gearbeitet hat. Eine von Satzingers Kurzgeschichten wurde verfilmt.

Von Graz aus weltweit tätig


„Durch das Internet ist man heute ortsunabhängig“, begründet Florian Satzinger, warum er in Graz arbeitet, obwohl seine Kunden größtenteils aus dem Ausland stammen. Mit der virtuellen Arbeit alleine sei es aber natürlich nicht abgetan: „Man muss seinen Kunden auch in die Augen schauen“, ist Satzinger überzeugt. Er ist daher regelmäßig auf Messen und im Creative Talent Network (Künstler-Community im Character Design) präsent. Zu seinen bisherigen Kunden zählen Walt Disney und Warner Bros (Looney Tunes, Pinky & Brain), Bahlsen, Telekom Austria, Ankama Group, SAT1 oder Red Bull (Medienanwendungen für Fernsehen). Satzinger unterrichtet außerdem an der FH Salzburg Analoge Animation, Animationsgeschichte und Medienanalyse und ist Gastlektor für Character Design am VIA University College (Viborg, Dänemark).

 

Die Kurzgeschichte JOHN STARDUCK wurde von den französischen Tigobo Animation Studios verfilmt, Satzinger war dabei Art Director und Regisseur. Die Pre-Production Artwork wurde  im April 2013 in einer Ausstellung am Graphic Art Museum in Angouleme präsentiert, gefolgt von Präsentationen in Los Angeles, Annecy und am Cartoon Forum in Toulouse.

Vorgehensweise beim Character Design

Nachdem der Kunde im Briefing erläutert, was die Figur darstellen soll, sucht Satzinger erste Ideen. „Da entsteht erst einmal eine Silhouette im Kopf, der ich dann folge“, erläutert der Character Designer. Danach zeichnet er die Figur am Computer. Die Animation der Zeichnungen übernehmen in weiterer Folge die 3D-Grafiker. „So wie ein Architekt den Plan für das Bauunternehmen zeichnet, zeichne ich die Pläne für die 3D-Grafiker“, sagt Satzinger. Die Vorgaben des Kunden müssen natürlich eingehalten werden, dennoch versucht Satzinger, seinen eigenen Stil zu bedienen. Satzinger: „Das ist ein bisschen zu meiner Trademark geworden. Die Leute die mich beauftragen kommen ganz gezielt wegen meines deutlichen Stils. Ich versuche, innerhalb meines Stils neue Figuren zu entwickeln.“ Inspirationsquellen sind u.a. zeitgenössische Künstler wie Erich Wurm. „Das hat zwar nicht ursächlich mit meiner Arbeit zu tun, regt aber an“.

Der gebürtige Grazer war erst als Illustrator tätig. Dabei erkannte er, dass er sehr gut darin ist, sich immer wieder etwas Neues auszudenken, Figuren neu zu zeichnen und zu interpretieren. Diese Eigenschaft ist ideal für die Arbeit in einem Filmstudio, wenn es darum geht, bestehende Figuren umzuarbeiten oder neue zu kreieren. Daraufhin absolvierte Satzinger ein Trickfilm-Studium in Vancouver, Kanada und gründete 1995 gemeinsam mit Nils Homann Hardenberg das Label Satzinger & Hardenberg. 2009 gewann Satzinger den Nemoland-Award für Character Design in Florenz.

www.satzingerhardenberg.com

paperwalker.blogspot.co.at