SERION EXPLORER E60

The design concept was generated by Benjamin Julian Toth, a student of the University of applied sciences FH Joanneum for Industrial Design, Graz Austria as a diploma thesis. The Austrian design studio motion code: blue acted as cooperation partner and sponsor for this project.

The topic was to design a reinterpretation of long range passage maker yachts for the next generation of yacht owners. SERION EXPLORER E60 yacht concept is based on a research of trends in yacht design and upcoming value shifts within the next 15 to 20 years. The aim of SERION E60 is to broaden the developing picture of future motor yachts within 60 ft (20 meter) by elaborating changing megatrends, markets, and consumer behaviors but also focusing on unconventional functions and features within this class. This concept highlights areas of possible improvement and redefines the overall character of classic passage makers. The yacht focuses on the ability of long range journeys, autarkic traveling and maximum living spaces at all climate or weather conditions.

Reasonable changes within future lifestyles prove that influences of extreme urbanization will cause an increasing demand for deceleration. It is highly expectable that the aspect of well being and experiencing as well as independent and autarkic traveling will come to the fore, and the picture of fast looking dynamic yacht designs will slowly start to fade away. Future yacht owners will stop consuming material oriented luxury goods and representing their wealth, instead they will consume more immaterial luxury goods like time, space, independence,... Future luxury products like the yacht have to offer answers for those demands.

The size of 60 feet (ca. 20 meter)  is very intelligent and efficient, yards are able to produce the yacht in serial production and owners can host up to 6 people on the vessel. The yacht is designed to offer maximum space for 2-3 people, a wide and open interior layout differs strongly form existing room layouts. a loft-like feeling which is optimized for all climate zones can be achieved. A very efficient diesel-electric propulsion system top off the concept, which is designed to bring innovations and new formal design ideas to the yacht scene.

 

 

YOUNG DESIGNER OF THE YEAR

 

Benjamin Toth won the "Young Designer of the Year Award" in June 2012 in Monaco for his entry ReSeadence 50y  - the conversion of a former 50m survey vessel into a yacht of "cutting edge design" which balanced sympathy with the original vessel while incorporating novel design features within its avant-garde appearance.
Read more ...

SERION EXPLORER E60

Die Designstudie von Benjamin Julian Toth wurde im Rahmen einer Diplomarbeit der FH Joanneum für Industrial Design in Graz, Österreich entwickelt. Das Designstdudio motion code: blue betätigte sich als Kooperationspartner und Sponsor.

Das Thema war eine Motoryacht für das Jahr 2030-35 zu entwickeln, die auf einen bevorstehenden Wertewandel im Luxussegment Bezug nimmt. Das Konzept basiert auf aktuellen Trends im Yacht Design, auf einem sich in den nächsten 15-20 Jahren stark verändernden Zielgruppenbedürfnissen, sowie auf die Integration von neuen unkonventionellen und sinnvollen Zusatzfunktionen in diesem Marktsegment. SERION E60 zeigt eine Neuinterpretation von klassischen sogenannten "Passage-Maker"-Yachten im 60-Fuss-Segment (ca. 20 Meter), die  für autonome Reisen ausgelegt sind und bei Yachtkäufern zunehmend auf Resonanz stoßen. Die Möglichkeit große Distanzen zu bewältigen, Autarkie in allen Klimazonen und eine Maximierung des Lebensraumes sind die Hauptschwerpunkte, die die Designstudie charakterisieren.

Veränderte Lebensbedingungen und zunehmende Urbanisierung werden den ohnehin schon bestehenden Trend zur Entschleunigung weiter ansteigen lassen.  Es ist stark anzunehmen, dass im Luxussegment Aspekte wie ganzheitliches Wohlbefinden und unkonventionelles Erleben in Kombination mit langen, ausgedehnten autarken Reisen noch stärkere Bedeutung erlangen werden, die Yacht wird sich weg vom Sportwagen fürs Wasser hin zum Langzeitlebensraum entwickeln, bei dem Geschwindigkeit eine untergeortnete Rolle spielt. Zukünftige Yachteigner werden ihre Wertewelt weg vom materiellen prestigegesteuerten Denken hin zum immateriellen Konsumieren von Luxus verlagern, Werte wie Raum, Zeit, bewusste Abschottung von der Umwelt, Unabhängigkeit,... gewinnen noch viel mehr an Bedeutung, dementsprechned müssen zufünftige Produkte, auch die Motoryacht, diesen Wünschen entsprechen.

Die Größe von 60 Fuss (ca 20M) ist für diesen Einsatzzweck eine sehr passende und vernünftige Yachtgröße, es kann zum Einen der Hersteller die Yachten noch in Serie effizient fertigen und zum Anderen bietet sie zukünftigen Eignern ausreichend Platz um bis zu 6 Personen beherbegen zu können. Grundsätzlich ist die Yacht jedoch für 2-3 Personen ausgelegt, der Innenraum wurde im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Yachten entsprechend neu interpretiert, sodass ein großzügiges, loftartiges Wohngefühl entsteht, das in allen Klimazonen optimal genutzt werden kann. Ein sehr effizienter diesel-elektrischer Antrieb rundet das Konzept ab, das neue Trends in Bezug auf auf Innovationen und Design in die Yachtszene bringen will. 

 

 

YOUNG DESIGNER OF THE YEAR


Benjamin Julian Toth wurde im Juni 2012 in Monaco zum "Young Designer of the Year" im Bereich Yacht-Design gewählt. Mit dem Konzept "ReSeadence 50" - der Umformung eines 50m Forschungsschiffs zu einer Yacht - setzte er sich gegen eine harte, internationale Konkurrenz durch. 
Mehr dazu ...