grazfleck

Memories of a city are based on feelings, impressions and stories.

 

Anyone inhabiting or just visiting a city will be influenced by these notions and retain very special personal impressions. Klaus Kempenaars, a cosmopolitan designer with deep roots in Styria, set out to find the typical visual themes of Graz and to design a pattern that would display them. Anything from building facades to garbage cans was examined and - if found appealing – translated into graphics. Eventually the grazfleck was realized in cooperation with the traditional Styrian Loden manufacturer Steiner1888 by the initiative of the Environmental Eervices Departement of Graz and was supported by Creative Industries Styria.

Themes of the city, designed as abstract patterns and woven into fleecy loden show parts of the BIX-multi-media facade (realities:united, 2003), the construction structure of „Lichtschwert“ (Hartmut Skerbisch, 1992) and the pattern of the Orangerie Graz (Splitterwerk, 2005). Round forms were realised by using woven Jacquard techniques, but the conversion of these complex patterns was a great challenge for both manufacturer and designer.

Producer Steiner1888 is well known for his woolen garments: Yves Saint Laurent, Burberry and Hugo Boss among others have been working with their exquisite fabrics. For CEO Johannes Steiner the grazfleck represents the perfect combination of traditional craft and design. Klaus Kempenaars, co-founder of the design organisation xSITE, believes clever product design is always based on natural material of highest quality.

grazfleck is made of 100% sheep wool. It is breathable, moisture repellent, it can be cleaned easily due to the natural wool wax and is non-allergenic.

 

For further information / to order please contact:
Creative Industries Styria
T. +43 (0)316 890598

office@cis.at



www.steiner1888.at
www.xsitevision.com

grazfleck

Eine Stadt hinterlässt Eindrücke.

 

Und mit ihnen verbunden auch Erinnerungen, Gefühle und Geschichten. Egal, ob man eine Stadt besucht oder in ihr lebt – es ist kaum möglich, sich dieser Eindrücke zu entziehen. Lediglich die Intensität der Wahrnehmung variiert.

Der in der Steiermark verwurzelte Design-Kosmopolit Klaus Kempenaars hat sich ganz bewusst auf die Suche nach den für Graz typischen visuellen Eindrücken gemacht und daraus ein Graz-Muster entwickelt. Von Hausfassaden bis zu Müllbehältern hat er alles unter die Lupe genommen, was optisch ansprechend und grafisch verwertbar erschien. Angeregt durch eine Initiative des Umweltamtes und unterstützt durch die Creative Industries Styria entstand in einer intensiven Zusammenarbeit mit dem traditionsreichen steirischen Lodenproduzent Steiner1888 der grazfleck.

 

Eingewoben in flauschigen Lodenstoff finden sich dort die vom Designer abstrahierten Strukturen der Stadt als Muster wieder. Konkret handelt es sich dabei um Teile der BIX-Medienfassade am Kunsthaus Graz (realities:united, 2003), die Struktur des „Lichtschwerts“ (Hartmut Skerbisch, 1992) und das Muster der Orangerie Graz (Splitterwerk, 2005). In Jaquard-Webtechnik ließen sich auch runde Formen umsetzen. Im Gegensatz zum Druck sind die Möglichkeiten dennoch ein wenig eingeschränkt - eine Herausforderung, die aber den Gestaltungsprozess nur noch spannender machte.

 

Der Produzent Steiner1888 beliefert Firmen wie Yves Saint Laurent, Burberry oder Hugo Boss mit exquisiten Wollstoffen. Der grazfleck ist für Geschäftsführer Johannes Steiner eine optimale Kombination von traditionellem Handwerk und Design. Für Klaus Kempenaars, Gründer der Design-Organisation xSITE, zu deren Kunden Calvin Klein, Sony, Adidas oder die Metropolitan Opera zählen, sind qualitativ hochwertige, natürliche Materialien die Basis klugen Produktdesigns.

 

Der grazfleck besteht aus 100% Schurwolle. Er ist atmungsaktiv, feuchtigkeitsregulierend und auch für Kinder und Allergiker geeignet. Das genuine Grazer Produkt ist in drei Farbkombinationen erhältlich.

 

Für weitere Informationen bzw. Bestellung wenden Sie sich bitte an:
Creative Industries Styria
T. +43 (0)316 890598

office@cis.at



www.steiner1888.at
www.xsitevision.com