yes architecture

yes architecture was founded in 2002 by Ruth Berktold and Marion Wicher. By now, they have established subsidiaries in Munich, Graz and New York. They met during the master’s programme for Advanced Architectural Design at Columbia University in New York. Ever since, they work together in the fields of city planning, architecture, interior construction, sustainability and energy efficiency as well as product and media design. The work of yes is mostly interdisciplinary and is developed in different countries. They address different digital design and production methods.

 

The main task for the restoration and redesign of the facades for the projects “Ligne Roset” and “Spätauf” was to develop a representative and catchy new appearance for the content of the buildings. The graphic solution is also applied on the window elements in order to put the façade splitting in the background and to perceive the body of the building as monolithic and clear.

 

The basis for the design is the zebra pattern which is enlarged and projected onto the façade.

The basis for the design is the lion fish with its striped stings and body, perfectly spawned by nature. The circles capture one’s glance and the poles define the courtyard as an inviting gesture towards the street. A shell with a distinctive new corporate design is established.

Griesgasse 10, 8020 Graz

T.: +43 316 764 891

wicher@yes-architecture.com

www.yes-architecture.com

yes architecture

yes architecture wurde 2002 von den beiden Partnern Ruth Berktold und Marion Wicher gegründet. Sie etablierten seither Firmen in München, Graz und New York. Die beiden lernten sich beim Masterstudiengang für Advanced Architectural Design an der Columbia University in New York kennen und arbeiten seither gemeinsam in den Bereichen Städtebau, Architektur, Innenausbau, Nachhaltigkeit und Energieeffizienz, Produkt- und Mediendesign. Die Arbeiten von yes sind meist interdisziplinär und entstehen in verschiedenen Ländern. Dabei beschäftigen sie sich mit unterschiedlichen digitalen Entwurfs- und Produktionsmethoden.

 

Die Hauptaufgabe der Fassadensanierung und Fassadenneugestaltung für die Projekte „Ligne Roset“ und „Spätauf“ war es, ein repräsentatives und prägnantes neues Gesicht für den Inhalt des Gebäudes zu entwickeln. Diese grafische Lösung zieht sich auch über die Fensterelemente um die Fassadenteilung zurücktreten zu lassen und den Baukörper als monolithisches, klar ablesbares und einheitlich strukturiertes Ganzes wahrzunehmen.

Als Grundlage für das Design dient die Zebrazeichnung. Sie wird vergrössert und mittels 3D Putzelemente an die Fassade appliziert.

Die Design-Grundlage ist der von der Natur perfekt hervorgebrachte Rotfeuerfisch mit seinen gestreiften Stacheln und seinem gestreiften Körper. Die Kreise fokusieren den Blick, die Stangen definieren den Vorplatz als Raumbestandteil des Gebäudes und einladende Geste zur Strasse. So entsteht eine Hülle als unverwechselbares neues Corporate Design.

Griesgasse 10, 8020 Graz

T.: +43 316 764 891

wicher@yes-architecture.com

www.yes-architecture.com