BikeCityGuide

The BikeCityGuide app (for iPhone and Android) was successfully launched for five cities in Austria back in 2012. Meanwhile, this offer has been extended to over 35 cities in seven countries and its range of products enhanced. The development of the algorithm and app was honoured with the European Satellite Navigation Award for Austria. BikeCityGuide’s bicycle satnav is accompanied by voice messages that never fail to deliver exact information, even when it comes to complicated turns. That makes cycling in the city even more comfortable and safer. Many of BikeCityGuide’s functions – especially bicycle navigation and route planning functions – can be used without an active internet connection, thus cutting data roaming charges abroad as well as saving battery power. BikeCityGuide knows most sites of interest in every city that can be explored on preplanned city tours. And those who prefer to leave the beaten track can simply create their own individual route.

Awards and successful projects

Apps for Europe Competition 2014 – open data-based apps

Fiets Innovatie Award 2014 – Smartphone mount Finn wins innovations awards

ISOP Bike 2013 – Brand New Award

European Satellite Navigation Competition 2012 – Regional Winner Austria

Apps for Amsterdam 2012 – Public Prize

Futurezone Award 2012

 

One further, particularly successful, development is the Smartphone mount “FINN”, which easily attaches all mobile phones to any handlebar. Its brilliantly simple design made of highly robust silicon is built to withstand all adverse conditions.

Finn also won the 2014 Eurobike Award in the accessories category. The jury said the following about Finn: “we were very impressed by this functional and efficient lightweight mount that offers a low cost solution for attaching smartphones to the handlebar. As it is extremely space-saving, it is also suitable for rented bikes.” Moreover, Finn also won the 2014 Expobici Innovation Award for Best Accessory.

 

www.bikecityguide.org

BikeCityGuide

2012 wurde die BikeCityGuide App (für iPhone und Android) für fünf Städte in Österreich erfolgreich gelaunched. Inzwischen wurde das Angebot auf über 35 Städte in sieben Ländern ausgedehnt und die Produktpalette erweitert. Die Entwicklung des Algorithmus und der App wurden mit dem European Satellite Navigation Award für Österreich belohnt. Die Fahrradnavigation von BikeCityGuide wird von Sprachansagen begleitet, die auch bei komplizierten Abbiegungen exakt funktionieren. Das macht das Radfahren in der Stadt noch bequemer und sicherer. Viele Funktionen von BikeCityGuide, besonders Fahrradnavigation und Routenplanung, kann man auch ohne aktive Internetverbindung verwenden. Dadurch spart man sich im Ausland Roamingkosten und auch der Akku hält länger.BikeCityGuide kennt viele Sehenswürdigkeiten in jeder Stadt. Diese kann man auf vorgefertigten Stadttouren erkunden. Wer es etwas individueller mag, kann sich aber auch ganz einfach eigene Touren zusammenstellen.

 

Auszeichnungen und Erfolge

Apps for Europe Competition 2014 – Open Data basierende Apps

Fiets Innovatie Award 2014 – Smartphone mount Finn wins innovation award

ISPO Bike 2013 – Brand New Award

European Satellite Navigation Competition 2012 – Regional Winner Austria

Apps for Amsterdam 2012 – Public Prize

Futurezone Award 2012

 

Ein besonderer Erfolg ist auch die Entwicklung der Smartphone-Halterung „FINN“, die ein einfaches Montieren jedes Handys an jedem Fahrradlenker ermöglicht. Mit genial einfachem Design und aus hochfestem Silikon hält die Halterung allem stand.

2014 wurde Finn mit dem Eurobike Award in der Kategorie Accessoires ausgezeichnet. Die Jury sagt über Finn: “Als funktionell, effizient und leicht überzeugte uns diese zudem auch noch kostengünstige Halterung für Smartphones am Lenker. Da sie kaum Platz wegnimmt, ist sie besonders auch für die Verwendung bei Leihrädern geeignet.” Darüberhinaus gewann Finn den Expobici Innovation Award 2014 für das Beste Accessoire.

 

 

www.bikecityguide.org