Crossing Fashion

Crossing Fashion is committed to cultural exchange on the textile level with the aim of communicating cultural aspects via fashion design. Against the background of globalisation of fashion as a major aspect of ethnic identity, Crossing Fashion intends to promote intercultural dialogue between designers from many different countries. When designers meet and work together creatively, they are able to gain deeper insight into other ways of life.

 

In 2004, the first Crossing Fashion project brought designers from Africa, Asia and South America to Graz. Crossing Fashion II in 2007 dealt with the issue of migration. In 2009, visual artists worked together in Crossing Fashion Cuba III. In spring 2010, Crossing Fashion Cuba was presented at Arte y Moda in Havana.

 

Pictures: Marco Rossi

Crossing Fashion IV was all about fashion from Niger.

Pictures: Stephan Friesinger

The fifth Crossing Fashion project focused on fashion in Sri Lanka and especially on sustainability in the textile industry.

Pictures: Stephan Friesinger

In 2015, the project will go to Mongolia.

The Crossing Fashion project is organised by the Afro-Asian Institute in collaboration with Graz fashion collective PELL MELL and funded by the Departments of Culture and Social Affairs, Province of Styria. Cine Styria is financially supporting the production of a documentary film.

 

Afro-Asiatisches Institut Graz

www.aai-graz.at

Crossing Fashion

Crossing Fashion widmet sich dem Kulturaustausch auf textiler Ebene und so werden kulturelle Aspekte über Modedesign transportiert. Vor dem Hintergrund der Globalisierung von Mode als ein wesentlicher Aspekt der Identität eines Volkes, soll der interkulturelle Dialog zwischen DesignerInnen aus verschiedenen Ländern forciert werden. Die Begegnung der DesignerInnen und die kreative Zusammenarbeit ermöglicht tiefe Erkenntnisse über die andere Lebenswelt.

 

Das erste Crossing Fashion brachte 2004 DesignerInnen aus Afrika, Asien und Südamerika nach Graz. Crossing Fashion II widmete sich 2007 dem Thema Migration. Für das dritte Projekt Crossing Fashion Cuba wurde 2009 mit Bildenden KünstlerInnen zusammengearbeitet. Im Frühling 2010 wurde Crossing Fashion Cuba bei der Arte y Moda in Havanna präsentiert.

 

Fotos: Marco Rossi

Crossing Fashion IV beschäftigte sich mit Mode in Niger.

Fotos: Stephan Friesinger

Das fünfte Crossing Fashion Projekt beschäftigte sich mit Mode in Sri Lanka und setzte seinen Schwerpunkt auf Nachhaltigkeit in der Textilindustrie.

Fotos: Stephan Friesinger

2015 wird das Projekt in die Mongolei führen.

Das Projekt Crossing Fashion wird vom Afro-Asiatischen Institut in Kooperation mit dem Grazer Modekollektiv PELL MELL organisiert und im Rahmen von Crossing Cultures vom Land Steiermark Kultur und Land Steiermark Soziales finanziert. Die Produktion des Dokumentarfilmes wird durch eine Förderung von Cine Styria ermöglicht.

Afro-Asiatisches Institut Graz

www.aai-graz.at