UNESCO Cities of Design

UNESCO Creative Cities have one common denominator: A significant cultural heritage, a diversified and vibrant creative scene, and the commitment to use the potential of this creative milieu for the social and economic development of the region. Cities are increasingly playing a vital role by offering a climate of openness for creative processes. They unite the players of creative economy – from creative professionals to production and distribution. Cities breed creative clusters and are gateways to a globalized market.
 
Graz is part of this creative network. Together with UNESCO Cities of Design Berlin, Buenos Aires, Kobe, Montreal, Nagoya, Saint-Etienne, Shenzhen, Shanghai and Seoul, Graz strives to make creativity an essential element of long-term urban development and ambitious redesign.

 

In this context, design is not directed toward the prettification of surfaces. Design in a modern sense means designing the world around us so to make our environment and everyday lives easier and more worth living. Design follows our needs and wishes, while at the same time it responds to changes and challenges: creativity, inventiveness and innovation are important economic goods in the ongoing global competition.

 

Cities of Design use the potential of their creative capacity while constantly generating new ideas. They focus on the creative economy and its key discipline – design – and thus become pioneers in the global process of improving life standards and competitive positions. The challenge for Graz as UNESCO City of Design lies in the commitment of politics, administration and the creative community to incorporate design into everyday life of the city and live it across all departments and disciplines.

UNESCO Cities of Design

Die UNESCO Creative Cities haben einen gemeinsamen Nenner: Ein bedeutendes kulturelles Erbe, eine vielfältige und lebendige Kreativszene, sowie die Absicht und die Vision das Potential dieses kreativen Milieus nachhaltig in der gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung der Region zu nutzen.

Städte spielen eine bedeutende Rolle in der wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung einer Region und bieten der Kreativität ausreichend Nahrung. Sie einen alle Akteure der Kreativwirtschaft, von den Kreativschaffenden bis hin zur Produktion und Distribution. Sie sind die Geburtsstätten der kreativen Cluster, die es in der globalisierten Welt international zu vernetzen gilt. Graz ist Teil dieses Kreativnetzwerks. Gemeinsam mit den Städten Berlin, Buenos Aires, Kobe, Montreal, Nagoya, Saint-Etienne, Shenzhen, Shanghai und Seoul steht Graz als UNESCO Cities of Design für nachhaltige und anspruchsvolle urbane Weiterentwicklung und Neugestaltung.

 

Design zielt dabei nicht auf die Behübschung der Oberfläche ab, sondern dringt in alle Bereiche des Alltags ein. Design bedeutet Service am Menschen unter Berücksichtigung seiner Bedürfnisse. Design wird geprägt von unseren Wünschen und Ansprüchen an Gestaltung. Gleichzeitig reagiert Design auf Wandel und neue Herausforderungen: Kreativität, Ideenreichtum und Innovation sind heute wichtige Wirtschaftsgüter im globalen Wettbewerb.

Die Cities of Design setzen das Potenzial ihrer kreativen Leistungen bereits erfolgreich für sich ein und entwickeln sie weiter: Sie forcieren die Kreativindustrie und ihre Paradedisziplin Design und werden so Vorreiter einer globalen Entwicklung, in der es gilt Lebensstandard und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit weiter auszubauen. Für Graz bedeutet das konkret, dass sich Politik, Stadtverwaltung und Kreative gemeinsam zu dem Titel UNESCO City of Design bekennen und an der Verwirklichung aktiv arbeiten.